The charge of The Academic Council is to review the administration of academic programs, suggest planning and budgeting actions, and advise the Provost of proposed changes in academic programs.


Non-rotating members are the Provost, the Vice Provost and Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, college deans, the Assistant Provost for Extended Learning, the Dean of the School of University Studies, the Dean of Academic Information Services and Director of Kent Library, the Dean of Students, and the Registrar. One faculty member is elected from each college/school/library and serves a three-year term. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, "Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.) The Chairperson of the Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee serves a one-year term. The chair and members are appointed by the Provost.  

Non-Rotation Members

  • Mike Godard, Provost
  • Doug Koch, Vice Provost
  • Alberto Dávila, Dean, Harrison College of Business and Computing 
  • Joe Pujol, Dean, College of Education, Health and Human Studies
  • Melissa Odegard-Koester, Interim Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Rhonda Weller-Stilson, Dean, Holland College of Arts and Media
  • Tamela Randolph, Dean, College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics 
  • Nathan Bullock, Dean, Extended Studies 
  • Barbara Glackin, Dean of Kent Library 
  • Sandy Hinkle, Registrar 
faculty senate member
AY 2022  Tim Schmidt 
Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee 


faculty members
AY 2022-2024  Pamela Gershuny (Fall 2021 only)
Harrison College of Business and Computing 
AY 2022-2024  Julie Twidwell
Education, Health and Human Studies 
AY 2022-2024 Christopher Baldwin
Humanities and Social Sciences 
AY 2022-2024 Sarah Shaner
Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics 
AY 2022-2024  Christopher Haug
Holland College of Arts and Media 
AY 2019-2022  Elizabeth Rudloff 
Kent Library 


Coming Soon

April 6, 2021 
Academic Council (approved May 4, 2021) 

March 2, 2021
Academic Council (approved April 6, 2021) 

February 2, 2021
Academic Council (approved March 2, 2021) 

December 1, 2020
Academic Council (approved February 3, 2021) 

November 3, 2020
Academic Council (approved December 1, 2020) 

October 6, 2020
Academic Council (approved November 3, 2020) 

September 1, 2020
Academic Council (approved October 6, 2020) 

May 5, 2020
Academic Council (Approved September 1, 2020) 

April 7, 2020
Academic Council (Approved May 5, 2020) 

February 4, 2020
Academic Council (Approved April 7, 2020) 

December 3, 2019
Academic Council (Approved February 4, 2020) 

November 5, 2019
Academic Council (approved December 3, 2019) 

October 1, 2019
Academic Council (approved November 5, 2019) 

September 3, 2019 
Academic Council (approved October 1, 2019) 

Academic Hall 130
Mailing Address

One University Plaza, MS 3400
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701