Fund your education while gaining valuable professional experience.

The primary purpose of our graduate assistantships is to provide opportunities to gain professional experience, and academic training, and to help relieve some of the financial burden of graduate school.   

Assistantships are offered in both academic and administrative roles.  Responsibilities and eligibility for assistantships may vary among departments.  

Graduate assistantships pay a stipend of $9,491 for the academic year and cover the tuition for up to 9 credits of graduate-level coursework in both the fall and spring semesters and up to 6 credits during the summer semester. 

The full Graduate Assistant Handbook can be found on the mySEMO portal.

GA Handbook Summary

The graduate assistantship is designed to provide support for a student during full-time graduate study. Technically, the assistantship is a scholarship for which service is required. The assistantship provides an opportunity for a graduate student to serve in a professional role and to establish a professional relationship with faculty, professional staff, and/or administrators.

Southeast has two primary types of assistantships - Teaching and Administrative.

Teaching. The graduate teaching assistant (TA) is expected to participate directly in the teaching of a course, tutoring, or to fulfill duties pertaining to teaching support activities assigned to specific course sections. Support activities may include laboratory or clinical preparation, grading, tutoring, or library research to help prepare class presentations, etc. TA's are required to take GR603 (0 credit hour) course which is an in-depth study of, and intensive practical training in effective classroom teaching. Nursing, MBA, and English TA’s do not have to take GR603. They will complete a department specific orientation. 

Administrative. The graduate administrative assistant (AA) is expected to develop competencies in and assist in the daily operations of a university administrative unit. It is expected that such an AA appointment provide more than routine student clerical support that would typically be performed by student workers on campus.

Appointment recommendations are initiated in the department/unit and require the approval of the College Dean and the Vice Provost/Dean of Graduate Studies. Once approved, the appointment or reappointment forms are finalized and approved by the Office of the Graduate Studies, they are forwarded to Human Resources in order for a contract to be issued. The GA will receive e-mail notification to his/her Southeast student e-mail address regarding the issuance of the contract, along with detailed instructions related to the process of reviewing and accepting the contract.

TAs are expected to work 20 hours per week in completing the equivalent of six credit hours of instruction per semester. GAs are expected to work 20 hours per week. In no instance should workload related to the job expectations interfere with the GA’s program of study (e.g., time away from class, missing examinations).

All GAs must be directly supervised by a graduate faculty member within an academic department or by a designated professional staff member within other units. The person responsible for this supervision must be indicated on the job description provided to the GA when the appointment is initiated.

GAs are required to complete a minimum of six (6) hours of graduate level work per semester. However, in order to meet full-time graduate enrollment for FAFSA, SEVIS, or other purposes, a minimum of nine (9) hours is required. The fee waiver included in the assistantship covers up to nine (9) graduate hours of course- work applicable to the student’s degree program per semester for the fall and spring semesters, and up to six (6) hours of graduate coursework during the summer semester.

Since the assistantship is essentially a scholarship, GAs are expected to maintain a satisfactory academic record. At all times, the GA must maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative G.P.A. A student who receives a failing grade (F) in a graduate program will be suspended until obtaining the written approval from the appropriate college/department/program official(s) & the Vice Provost/Dean of Graduate Studies.

Graduate Assistant Forms

Approval & Reappointment 

  • Used when a new Graduate Assistants is hired 
  • Used when a Graduate Assistant is going to continue to work the next academic year 

Approval to Work Additional On-Campus

  • Used if a Graduate Assistant will be working during Winter/ Summer Break 
  • Used to obtain approval from the Graduate Studies Department 

GA Semester Evaluation Form

  • Used to evaluate Graduate Assistants. This form is to be submitted by the Assistantship Supervisor each semester before finals week 

GA Annual Evaluation Form

  • Used to evaluate the Assistantship. This form is to be submitted by the Graduate Assistant each year after working as a GA

GA Checkout Form

  • Used when the Graduate Assistant contract expires. Completion of this form is required to receive full clearance from the University.

Academic Year 2023-2024 Allocations and Openings 

Listed below are the allocations funded by Graduate Studies. Departments may have additional assistantships funded through other sources such as operations budgets or grant funding. 

Academic Departments

Department   No. of Graduate Assistant Allocated   Graduate Assistant
Availability
department contact's
Name
and Email
Application
Biology 11  0 Dustin Siegel
dsiegel@semo.edu 
Chemistry and Physics 4  0  Phil Crawford
 pcrawford@semo.edu 
COE - Leadership, Middle, and Secondary Education 1  0 Shannon Clapsaddlesclapsaddle@semo.edu 
COE - CHART Clinic at River Campus 0  0 Kyle Schneider kschneider@semo.edu 
COE - Counselor Education Training Clinic 1  0 Kirsten LaMantia klamantia@semo.edu 
COE - Educator Preparation  1  0 Shannon Clapsaddle sclapsaddle@semo.edu 
COE - The Edvolution Center 1 0 Jana Gerard jgerard@semo.edu 
COE - The University School for Young Children 3  0 Jennie Webb jwebb@semo.edu 
Communication Disorders 4  0 Jayanti Ray  jray@semo.edu 
Computer Science 12  0 Reshmi Mitra CSgradprograms@semo.edu 
Criminal Justice, Social Work, and Sociology 1  0 Christopher Bradley cbradley@semo.edu 
Engineering and Technology 6 0 Brad Deken bdeken@semo.edu  Application Form (Information about positions)
English and TESOL 11  0 Eric Sentellesentell@semo.edu   Application Form Application Information
Environmental Science 2  0 John Kraemer jkraemer@semo.edu 
Graduate Business Studies 6  0 Gillian Nicholls gnicholls@semo.edu 
History and Anthropology 3  0 Adam Criblez acriblez@semo.edu 
Allied Health, Kinesiology, and Sport Sciences 5  0 Charlotte Cervantes
ccervantes@semo.edu
Monica Kearney (Exercise Science)
mlkearney@semo.edu 
Nutrition Application Information
Application Information
Mathematics 2  0 Emmanuel Thompson ethompson@semo.edu  Application Information
Nursing 4  0 Gina Koch glkoch@semo.edu  Must have BSN with Missouri RN Licensure
Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion 1  0  Jeremy Walling jwalling@semo.edu 
Psychology and Counseling 2  0 Melissa Odegard modegard@semo.edu 

Total in Academic Departments: 85

Non-academic Departments

Department   No. of Graduate Assistant Allocated   Graduate Assistant
Availability 
Department Contact Application
Admissions-Graduate 1 Alisa McFerron
amcferron@semo.edu 
Admissions-Special Events 1 0 Casey Hohler
chohler@semo.edu
Admissions-Tours 1 0 Casey Hohler
chohler@semo.edu
Athletics 14 0

Betsy Wilcox
bwilcox@semo.edu
or
athletics@semo.edu 

Campus Life/Event Services 1  0 Michele Irby
mirby@semo.edu
Career Services 3  0 Dan Presson
dpresson@semo.edu
 
Center for Academic Advising 2  0 Amanda Eller
advising@semo.edu
 
Center for Behavioral Health & Accessibility 2  0 Dinia Jenkins
djenkins@semo.edu
Application Information
Application Information
Center for Teaching & Learning (CTL) 1  0 Mary Talbut
mhtalbut@semo.edu
 
Center for Writing Excellence 1  0 Jennifer Weiss
jlweiss@semo.edu
Application Information
Dean of Students - Case Management 1  0 Trae Mitten
lmitten@semo.edu
 
Early College Programs 1  0 Karie Stroder
earlycollegeprograms@semo.edu
 
Educational Access Programs 1  0 Valdis Zalite
vzalite@semo.edu
 
Office of International Education & Services 1  0 Paliza Shrestha
pshrestha@semo.edu
Application Information
Jane Stephens Honors Program 1  0 Scott Brandhorst
sbrandhorst@semo.edu
Kent Library/Special Collections 1  0 Tyson Koeing
tmkoenig@semo.edu
 
Learning Assistance Program 1  0 Jennifer Weiss
jlweiss@semo.edu
 
Equity Initiatives 1  0 Nora Bouzihay
nbouzihay@semo.edu
 Application Information
Marketing & Communications 1  0 Tonya Wells
twells@semo.edu
 
Military and Veteran Services 1  0 Amanda Woods
awoods@semo.edu
 
New Student Programs 2  0 Katie Krodinger
kkrodinger@semo.edu
 
Office of Student Conduct  0 Randy Carter
lrcarter@semo.edu
 
Office of the President 1  0 Chris Martin
cmartin@semo.edu
 
Office of the Provost 0 Doug Koch
dskoch@semo.edu
Southeast Online 2 0 Dan Morris
southeastonline@semo.edu
 
Office of Residence Life 3 0 Allie Whisker
awisker@semo.edu
 
Student Government Association 1 0 Michele Irby
mirby@semo.edu
Graduate Hall Director Position 0 0 Allie Whisker
awisker@semo.edu

Total in Non-academic Departments: 44 

Total Allocations: 129 

Location
Office
Academic Hall 132
Mailing Address
One University Plaza, MS 3400
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701