The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Founded in 1897, and with 300 chapters at colleges and universities in North America, the Society is highly regarded by graduate schools and employers.

The Southeast Missouri State University Chapter was charted in 1992, and the signatures of the charter members are affixed to the chapter’s charter, which hangs in a place of honor in the hallway of Academic Hall.  It has received national recognition and is promoting literacy through our Born to Read service Program, Redhawk Readers service project and Redhawk Talks service project.  We also strive to promote academic excellence through participation in local and national fellowship competitions, and many universities and community related projects. Its members include current and previous presidents of SEMO, provost, many faculties and staff, a winner of American Idol and many professionals.

Invitation to membership is offered only once a year, in the Spring semester, to the top 7.5 percent of juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students, who also meet other criteria. Students may not apply but will be invited to join the Society by the Chapter President if they meet the standards of eligibility.

Phi Kappa Phi members are eligible to apply for a variety of scholarships offered by the National Organization, including Fellowships to support the first year of graduate or professional study; Study Abroad grants; and Literacy Grants for service projects that promote literacy in the local community. Phi Kappa Phi awards nearly a million dollars of scholarships to its members each year, through national competitions. There are 58 annual Fellowships, ranging between $8,500 and $35,000 each, to support the first year of graduate or professional study.

Chapter Links

Phi Kappa Phi National Organization

Chapter Officers

Dr. Suhair Amer
Professor, Department of Computer Science

Dr. Jayanti Ray
Professor and Chair, Department of Communication Disorders

Dr.  Christopher Bradley
Professor and Chair, Department of Criminal Justice, Social Work and Sociology 

Ms. Carol Kitchen

Public Relations Officer
Dr. Suhair Amer
Professor, Department of Computer Science

Past President
Ms. Marge Phillips