For decades, students have embarked on their Southeast journey at the Ice Cream Pig Out, making memories as their next chapter unfolds. They trek Cardiac Hill, visit the iconic Gum Tree, leave it all on the intramural field, sled Academic Terrace and chalk their name in the dome. They revel in S-E-M-O chants, join in the alma mater, bond with forever friends and move their commencement tassel.
Seasons come and go, and with them, four institutional name changes dot the history books. For 150 years, decades of go-getters have descended on SEMO, eager to seize new challenges. No matter the era, the memories made here -- the Welcome Back Picnic, Late Night Breakfast, Homecoming and Family Weekend -- remain nostalgic reminders of this special place called Southeast Missouri State University.
The institution has enjoyed four names since its founding: Southeast Missouri Normal School (1873), Southeast Missouri State Teachers’ College (1919), Southeast Missouri State College (1946) and Southeast Missouri State University (1972).