University Accreditation 

Southeast Missouri State University acquires its regional accreditation status from the Higher Learning Commission's Commission on Institutions of Higher Education. The HLC is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States, providing support for institutions across 19 states. Continuing accreditation requires each HLC institution to complete a comprehensive self-study and to submit to peer review on a schedule determined by the HLC.


Southeast’s Record of Accreditation Status 

Reaffirmation of Accreditation Letter 12/2019


Southeast Missouri State University currently maintains the following accreditations. 

Earl & Margie Holland College of Arts & Media

  • National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) logo
  • National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST) logo
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD) logo
  • Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) logo
  • Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) logo
  • Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) logo

Donald L. Harrison College of Business & Computing

  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) Accredited logo
  • Network of International Business Schools (NIBS) Accredited logo
  • ABET Computing Accreditation Commission logo
  • National Security Agency (NSA): United States of America logo
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) logo

College of Education, Health & Human Studies

  • Council on Academic Accreditation: Accredited | Speech-Language Pathology
  • Council on Accreditation: Parks, Recreation, Tourism and Related Professions
  • An Affiliate of NAEYC
  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics
  • caATe: Commission on Accreditation Athletic Training — Accredited Program
  • CAEP: Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • CCNE Accredited
  • cfle: Certified Family Life Educator
  • Apple Distinguished School
  • CACREP Accredited
  • VCS Program - Verified Course Sequences: ABAI (Association for Behavior Analysis International)
  • COSMA Accredited Institution

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

  • Logo for the Council on Social Worker Education

College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics

  • Logo for ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission
  • Logo for ABET Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission
  • Logo for ACS Chemistry for Life
  • Logo for ATMAE: Lead, Innovate, Collaborate | The Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering

Early College Programs

  • Logo for NACEP: National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships

University School for Young Children

  • Logo for National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

Licensure and Certification

Southeast Missouri State University has been approved by Missouri to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education.

Southeast Missouri State University offers some areas of study that may lead to licensure of certification in your home state. In general, we recommend you work with your faculty program coordinator to ensure that your area of study matches your interests and needs. To see a list of programs and licensure by state, please visit our licensure database.

While we make every effort to keep the database up-to-date, if you are studying with us from outside the state, we highly recommend you research requirements in your state to ensure licensure compliance.

Here are resources that list licensure organizations by state in a few of our licensure programs:

National Council of State Boards of Nursing

National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy

Academic Hall 130
Mailing Address

One University Plaza, MS 3400
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701