The Power of Women 2024 event was a huge success, celebrating and empowering women from Southeast and from the Cape Girardeau area. Southeast alumna and former NASA astronaut Dr. Linda Godwin joined the celebration as this year's keynote speaker.

About the Power of Women

The Power of Women program for Southeast students began in 2012 and is designed to encourage women – Southeast alumni, businesswomen, and community members throughout the region – to support Southeast Missouri State University through service and philanthropy.

Through this program, the University Foundation hopes to connect female students at Southeast with financial resources to fund their education as well as opportunities to learn through mentorships, internships, and service projects in the region. The annual event brings together extraordinary women to celebrate and empower one another and to enhance the future of their next generation of colleagues. A portion of proceeds from the event is awarded as scholarships.

The Power of Women Scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate a passion for a life of service, are attending Southeast full time, and have completed at least 30 credit hours with a minimum 2.75 grade point average. Each recipient submits an application demonstrating significant academic achievement, involvement at the University and commitment to volunteerism and community service. The Power of Women Scholarship Committee selects the recipients based on these factors as well as their future aspirations for success in their career and personal life.

The Power of Women Scholarship was first awarded in the fall of 2013 and endowed in the spring of 2014. Since its inception, 85 students have received the Power of Women Scholarship.


Power of Women Scholarship

The 2024 Power of Women Luncheon & Expo was a huge success, but you can still give to support students! Since its beginning, 85 students have received the Power of Women Scholarship because of the generosity of people like you.

2024 Power of Women Scholarship Recipients

The 2024 Power of Women Scholarship recipients were honored at the March 1 event. The scholarship recipients are:

  • Lacey Best
  • Jordan James
  • Terra Sargeant
  • Pearldee Sterbinsky 
  • Hailey Winslow

Spread the Word