Provost's Awards for Teaching Excellence

The Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence

The Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence recognize faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to exceptional teaching and student success. Multiple awards are available each year across a range of categories. In 2018/2019, faculty were recognized with awards in the following categories:

  1. Excellence in online teaching and learning (only available for Online Teaching Academy participants) - Recipient: Tony Faber
  2. Excellence in student learning assessment - Recipient: Missy Nieveen Phegley
  3. Excellence in supporting undergraduate research - Recipient: Christina Ragain
  4. Excellence in the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) - Recipient: Larry Bohannon
  5. Excellence in teaching or supporting general education courses - Recipient: Sara Garner
  6. Excellence in promoting experiential learning - Recipient: Victoria McAlister
  7. Excellence in promoting engaged learning - Recipient: Rachel Morgan Theall
  8. Excellence in supporting student recruitment - Recipient: Holly Wagner

Who can receive an award?

Any faculty member (full-time or adjunct) is eligible to be nominated (i.e. by another colleague) or to apply directly for these awards.

What are the award criteria?

The applications/nominations will be evaluated against the following criteria:

  • The applicant’s/nominee’s fit for the chosen award/s based on the letter of support
  • The applicant’s/nominee’s fit for the chosen award/s based on their supervisor’s endorsement

What is the process for applying or nominating a colleague?

The call for applications and nominations is now open. Please use the Teaching Awards Cover Sheet to apply for an award, or to nominate a colleague. Applications must be accompanied by a letter of support by the nominator or applicant.

In addition to the letter of support, the evaluation team will contact the nominee’s/applicant’s supervisor for a verbal or written endorsement.

Teaching Awards Cover Sheet

What is the deadline?

Please send applications as an email attachment to by March 1, 2020.

How will the award recipients be honored?

The recipients of each award will be announced during the Spring 2020 semester. The award recipients will receive:

  • An engraved plaque
  • A photo with the Provost
  • Inclusion in a University news release



Academic Hall 130
Office of the Provost
One University Plaza, MS 3400
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701