Minutes - May 5, 2010

Minutes - May 5, 2010

XLV, No. 2


May 5, 2010

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, May 5, 2010, in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. Attending were: Sophia Scott (Chair), Kevin Dickson (Chair-elect), Janice Ward (Membership Chair), Rick Althaus, Claudia Ruediger, Eric Clements, Stephanie Chamberlain, Larry Bohannon, Rachel Morgan Theall, Elaine Jackson, Diane Wood, Don Jung, Debra Lee-DiStefano, Phil Nacy, David Naugler, Walt Paquin, David Powell, Willie Redmond, Joyce Renaud, Rick Sebby, Chris Wubbena, Seidu Sofo, Raj Somarajan, Sven Svenson, Larry Underberg, Haohao Wang, Victor Wilburn, and alternate Jim Sifferman. Also in attendance were Provost Rosati, Student Regent Brian Kelly and Dr. Mike Cobb.

Absent and not represented by an alternate were Jian Peng and Carol Veneziano.


Chair Scott thanked the Senators for agreeing to serve and represent their faculty. She asked that Senators not be afraid of expressing their opinions on any issue. After a request from Senator Redmond, all those present introduced themselves and stated which department they are representing.


Chair Scott introduced Brian Kelly, the Student Regent. He stated that he felt the students and faculty had goals and desires in common and said he hoped to represent each group to the other. He asked what goals or objectives the Senate had for the upcoming year.


Chair Scott explained that there are six legislative committees within the Senate and asked a Senator who had served on the committee to explain the duties of each.

Professional Affairs Senator Althaus explained that Professional Affairs monitors and advocates on behalf of the professional interest of the faculty. Major responsibilities include tenure and promotion issues, and processing applications for emeritus status for retiring faculty.

Academic Affairs Senator Dickson stated that this committee deals with the five-year calendar, the scheduling/calendaring of classes if there are changes in the number of weeks or number of hours of instruction, as well as academic affairs relating to curriculum. The chair of the committee also serves on Academic Council and Graduate Council.

Governance Senator Cobb said that this committee addresses issues of how Senators represent fellow faculty, whether or not faculty interests are being addressed correctly. The committee looks at different models of governance, particularly the AAUP model.

Compensation Senator Sebby stated that this committee deals with all matters relating to faculty welfare, especially salary and benefits. The Compensation committee is represented on the University Budget Review Committee and the Benefits Committee.

Documents Senator Renaud explained that as there are changes or edits to the Handbook, whether changes in position titles, department titles or programs, the committee tries to ensure that the revisions end up in the Handbook. It is an on-going process.

Membership Senator Ward said the committee populates the legislative committees of the Senate and assists in securing members for University-wide committees. A message will be sent to all Senators as to which committee they prefer to serve on; up to three preferences may be listed. Each Senator must serve on at least one committee, excluding the Membership Committee itself.

Chair Scott then distributed a copy of the meeting dates for the next year, and said that it would also be sent electronically.


A move to adjourn was made at 4:50 by Senator Redmond, seconded by Senator Althaus.

Approved September 15, 2010