Minutes - May 4, 2011

Minutes - May 4, 2011

XLVI, No. 1


May 4, 2011

The opening session of the forty-sixth convening of the Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University was held on Wednesday, May 4, 2011, in the Redhawks Room of the University Center. Attending were: Kevin Dickson (Chair), Rick Althaus, Larry Bohannon, Brandon Christensen, Eric Clements, Desma Reno, Don Jung, Debra Lee-DiStefano, Charles McAllister, Marcus Bond, Phil Nacy, Tiffany Parker, Jian Peng, David Powell, Willie Redmond, Joyce Renaud, Claudia Ruediger, Sophia Scott, Doug Atwood, Julie Weathers, Carol Veneziano, Janice Ward, Victor Wilburn, Diane Wood and Chris Wubbena.

Absent and not represented by an alternate were Stephanie Chamberlain, Ziping Liu, Seidu Sofo, Larry Underberg and Candide Walton.

Chair Dickson welcomed the Senators to the 46th session and began by reading out of the Faculty Senate Constitution, the roles and responsibilities of the Chair-elect of Faculty Senate. He then opened the floor for nominations for Chair-elect. Senator Don Jung nominated Senator Janice Ward and Victor Wilburn seconded. Senator Althaus moved to close nominations and Charles McAllister seconded. A vote was taken to close nominations and passed with an all in favor, nominations were closed and as there were no other nominations, Senator Janice Ward was elected by acclamation.

Elections for the Membership Committee were held. Those elected were Willie Redmond (Business), Joyce Renaud (Health/Human Services), Diane Wood (Science & Mathematics), Larry Bohannon (Education), Don Jung (Liberal Arts), Claudia Ruediger (Kent Library) and Sophia Scott (Polytechnic Studies).

Chair Dickson called for a break so that the newly-elected Membership Committee could elect a chair.

Diane Wood was elected Chair of the Membership Committee.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.