Minutes - April 25, 2007

Minutes - April 25, 2007

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 25, 2007, in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Michael Cobb (Chair), Martha Zlokovich (Chair-Elect), David Smith (Membership Committee Chair), Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, Stephanie Chamberlain, Kim Dillivan, Beth Easter, Marc Fulgham, Elaine Jackson, Daniel MacLeay, Jim McGill, Jayanti Ray, Sophia Scott, Bonnie Stepenoff, Marc Strauss, Lucinda Swatzell, Larry Underberg, Haohao Wang, Pat Willingham, Xuesong Zhang, and Min Zou.

Absent, and not represented by their Alternates, were: Benjie Heu, Mary Ann DeLine, Pricilla Hornby, Carolyn Rainey, Willie Redmond, and Janice Ward. Not represented Criminal Justice/Sociology.

Approval of the Minutes
Approval of minutes Vol. XLI-15 was moved by Senator Althaus and seconded by Senator Smith. The motion carried.

Year End Reports
The Johnson Faculty Centre Board of Directors and the Grants and Research Funding Committee presented their year-end reports.

Legislative Committees

Senator Smith reported that David Reinheimer resigned from the Faculty Senate and will be replaced by Stephanie Chamberlain. He also indicated that the Membership Committee is continuing to fill vacancies on the University Standing Committees.

Professional Affairs
Senator Althaus indicated that the Professional Affairs Committee has not met.

Academic Affairs
Senator Althaus reported that the Academic Affairs Committee is continuing to work on Intellectual Property Rights.
Senator Althaus reported that the final report of the Task Force on Intellectual Property Rights will be posted on the Faculty Senate website.

Senator Ray indicated that the Documents Committee has not met.

Senator Swatzell reported that the Governance Committee has continued to meet via email and they have the Grievance Policy ready to be brought before the Senate for approval.

New Business

There was no new business to consider.

Old Business

Senator Swatzell presented the Grievance Policy. The Senate held extensive discussion concerning the revisions in the Policy. Senator Swatzell moved to accept the Grievance Policy. Senator Elaine Jackson seconded the motion. The motion carried.


The motion to adjourn (Senator Althaus/Senator Zhang) was recognized and approved.

The next Faculty Senate Meeting will be May 2, 2007, in the University Center Missouriana Room at 3 pm.

Approved August 29, 2007