Minutes - April 20, 2005

Minutes - April 20, 2005

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 20, in the Program of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Susan Swartwout (presiding), James Champine, Bruce Hathaway, Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, David Baird, Janice Chadha, Michael Cobb, Mary Ann DeLine, Marc Fulgham, Kathy Gilliland, Linda Heitman, Daniel MacLeay, Cheryl Milde, Larry Underberg (for Bruce Mims), David Naugler, Debbie Beard (for Carolyn Rainey), David Smith, Bonnie Stepenoff, Marc Strauss, Mohan Tikoo, Pat Willingham, Mack Wilson, Martha Zlokovich, and Min Zou. Senate Secretary Paula Cunningham was absent due to illness. Student Government Representative Heather Valle and Student Government President Dane Huxel were present, as well as Vice President Fred Janzow, in place Jane Stephens, as Administrative Liasion. Dean Irene Ferguson attended as a guest.

Absent, and not represented by their Alternates, were, Ronald Clayton, Arrick Jackson, Kevin Squibb, and Rebecca Summary.

Approval of the Minutes
The motion (Althaus/Strauss) to approve Vol. XXXIX No. 14 of the minutes was approved.

Report from the Chair
Chair Swartwout deferred her report to the presentation of year end reports by committees.

Report from the Administrative Liaison
Vice President Janzow reported on three matters brought before the Board of Regents. The Board approved a new MBA option in Health Management Administration. Students would complete their core at Southeast, and complete courses in health either on-line or face to face at other Universities. Second, a new Specialist degree in Educational Leadership Development within the College of Education was approved. This would serve the needs of teachers required to obtain college credit for purposes of recertification and salary advancement. It would be an alternative to the only option of pursuing administrative degrees. Third, the general fee increase proposal by the student government was approved unanimously.

With regards to the Budget Review process, he reported that the committee heard compensation proposals, and an increased benefits package. In response to a question by Senator Zlokovich he indicated that the committee considered, as they have in the past, intercollegiate transfer of tuition benefits. Such a proposal would have to clear Budget Review, as well as being brought before the Presidents of the other state institutions by President Dobbins. The next meeting is scheduled for April 29th and unfortunately decisions would be made prior to the state allocation being known. He also reported on actions by the Promotion and Sabbatical Leave Committee. They were uniformly impressed by the quality of the dossiers of the candidates. They also considered revised criteria so that fall candidates would be served.

The administrative liaison also reported on progress of actions related to the Higher Education Centers. He stated that the newspapers have been fair and balanced, the law suit was still pending, and the CBHE meet on April 13 but made little progress. He complimented Craig Roberts in his role as the new director of the Honors Program. More honors sections than ever are being offered and there is increased rapport among the students.

Report from the Student Government Liaison
Student Government representative Valle, along with outgoing President Huxel, reported that there was rejoicing over the general student fee increase. Student Government met and considered general business. With regard to the current senate meeting SG hoped for passage of the change from 6 to 8 week grade reporting. She indicated they had passed a resolution in favor of the change, and presented results of an updated survey showing student support for the measure. She indicated they hoped for implementation for fall of 2005.

A resolution (D. Smith/Chadha) expressing support of the student government proposal was passed. A bill to alter the policy in the Faculty Handbook will be considered under Old Business on May 4.

Legislative Committee Reports

Academic Affairs
Chair Tikoo described the major achievements of the committee, and distributed his final report.

There was no final report from Senator Naugler as the committee is still involved in the budget review process.

Chair Macleay thanked the previous committee for all their work. He distributed the final report. The committee has posted an informational page for new senators on the website.

The governance committee report was distributed Chair Martha Zlokovich. She suggested discussion of changes to the grievance policy would continue until fall.

Dr. Hathaway distributed his final report. He indicated that Elaine Jackson from Nursing and Priscilla Hornsby from Social Work were elected to the next senate.

Professional Affairs
Senator Althaus had three items for distribution: an end of year report; a report on the review of the student evaluation of teaching policy; and a bill to alter the policy.

Reporting Committee Reports

Grants and Research Funding Committee
Bill Snell, Chair of the committee, distributed his report. He suggested there be a review of the guidelines. The topic of problems in obtaining signatures and possible electronic alternatives was discussed. It was decided that any change would require a bill.

Grievance Committee
Chair Larry Underberg distributed his year end report. The committee is in the middle of a grievance. He commented that the staff grievance committee had been abolished. He also gave thanks to the Governance Committee for their efforts at reform.

Johnson Faculty Centre Committee
Senator Champine distributed the final report, and indicated that money will be spent replacing some items such as patio furniture, etc.

Old Business

Faculty Senate Bill 03-A-04 that addresses the academic honesty policy (Baird/Tikoo) was passed.

The grievance policy distributed previously was opened for discussion by Senator Zlokovich. It was suggested that comments be forwarded to her and the matter could be taken up by the next senate.

New Business

Senate Chair Swartwout opened a discussion of enrollment limitation placed on Universities Studies courses that would be part of the Bachelor of General Studies degree. The situation has made it difficult for on-campus majors to get into certain classes, and created waiting lists. Vice President Janzow responded that many distance students did not have access to web enrollment, and therefore were disadvantaged to getting these courses. A decision was made to create a “schedule of release” for seats that would help the University meet the promise that “no student would be turned away.” He said the system was in development.

New Business

A motion was made (Althaus/Strauss) to approve Emeritus Status to a former faculty member who is now an administrator. Senator Althaus explained that under the Handbook policy emeritus eligibility of retiring administrators is determined by their faculty status.

Outgoing Chair Swartwout presented certificates of appreciation to outgoing senators Mack Wilson, Linda Heitman, Bruce Hathaway, David Naugler, and Mohan Tikoo. Also recognized was outgoing Student Government Representative Heather Valle. She was uniformly praised for her professionalism. Chair-elect Champine heartily thanked Chair Swartwout for her successful stewardship of the Senate, and presented her with her plaque and gavel.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 PM