Minutes - April 18, 2012

Minutes - April 18, 2012

XLVII, No. 1
April 18, 2012

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 18, 1012 in the UC Missouriana/Redhawk Room. The following Senators were present: Janice Wood, Charlses McAllister, Doug Atwood, Claudia Ruediger, Rick Althaus, Kevin Dickson, Jeff Luetkenhaus, Tiffany Parker, Joyce Renaud, Willie Redmond, Ziping Liu, David Powell, Stephanie Chamberlain, Chris Wubbena, Jian Peng, Julie Weathers, Sophia Scott, Victor Wilburn, Larry Underberg, Susan Wehring, Eric Clements, Carol Veneziano, Marcus Bond, Brandon Christensen, Diane Wood, Don Jung, Larry Bohannon, Debra Lee-DiStefano and Desma Reno. The following alternates were in attendance: HaoHao Wang. Student Government Liaison Rebecca Masur was also in attendance.

Approval of Minutes

No minutes to be approved.

Old Business

No old business.

New Business

There was a list of Senators circulated for 2012-2013. The following seats were open: Department of Communication Studies, Mass Media, Department of Global Cultures and Languages, and Department of Accounting. Also needed is a new alternate for Senator Veneziano and Senator Christensen.
There was open nomination for the Chair-Elect. Senator Jung and Senator Scott nominate Senator Lee-DiStefano. She accepted. Senator Athaus and Senator Atwood close the nomination and accept Senator Lee-DiStefano as the Chair-Elect. Passed unanimously.
A ballot for Membership Committee was circulated. Membership Committee elections were completes and a Membership Committee chair was selected
Chair, Janice Ward, gave a reminder to submit committee preferences.

Chair Report

Commissioner Russell attended the meeting to approve legislative and reporting committees.


The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:27 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate Meeting will be held on September 5, 2012 at 3:00 p.m. in the Glenn Auditorium.