Scholarships & Awards

Barbara Hope Kem Fund Scholarship

The Barbara Hope Kem Fund Scholarship is a scholarship awarded to students with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 with an ACT of at least 23 or an SAT of at least 1600, with a preference for students with financial need verified by FAFSA, who demonstrates exceptional motivation to further their education and pursue a career in their chosen field.

The award may be for an amount up to 100% of tuition and fees, and may be renewed for up to four years at the discretion of the scholarship committee upon a yearly review of awardee degree progress.

To be considered for the scholarship, applicants are required to submit the following:

  1. A completed special application obtained from the Scholarship Office
  2. A letter of intent addressing how the applicant will benefit from receiving the award and how it will impact their educational experience
  3. Two letters of recommendation

Scholarship applicants must submit the above materials to the Office of Campus Life UC414 by 5:00pm on Thursday, March 1st 2018.

R. Ferrell Ervin Excellence in Teaching Award

The R. Ferrell Ervin Excellence in Teaching Award is an award established to honor the professor of mass communication and the late chair of the Department of Communication, Dr. R. Ferrell Ervin who served as an active member in both the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and the Public Relations Society of America at Southeast. Dr. Ervin spent 17 years teaching at SEMO building up the now accredited mass communications program and instilling a will in students and his academic colleagues to teach with excellence in mind. 

The award is given annually to up to two university faculty members in good standing during the spring semester via student body nominations, based on Dr. R. Ferrell Ervin Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee (ETASC) deliberations of the following factors:

Faculty member:

  1. Ability to demonstrate exceptional instruction over and knowledge of their respective field(s)
  2. Ability to demonstrate effective communication with students and administration
  3. Passion for the livelihood and growth of students they serve
  4. Notable involvement with participation and sponsorship of student organizations

Faculty submissions for the award are due to the Office of Campus Life UC414 by 5:00pm on Thursday, March 8th 2018.  

Download the Nomination Form


University Center 414
Student Government
One University Plaza, MS 1800
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701