Minutes - April 24, 2013

Minutes - April 24, 2013

XLVIII No. 1 Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting

April 24, 2013

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday April 24, 2013 in the UC Missouriana/Redhawks Room. The following Senators were present: Rick Althaus, Doug Atwood, Marcus Bond, Stephanie Chamberlain, Brandon Christensen, Eric Clements, Brooke Clubbs, Kevin Dickson, Deepak Gupta, Joni Hand, Roberta Humphrey, Don Jung, Debra Lee-DiStefano, Ziping Liu, Jeff Luetkenhaus, Tiffany Parker, Jian Peng, David Powell, Joyce Renaud, Desma Reno, Claudia Ruediger, Seidu Sofo, Carol Veneziano, Janice Ward, Julie Weathers, Victor Wilburn, and Diane Wood. The Interim Provost Gerry McDougall was also present. The following alternates were present: Henry Clark and Shonta Smith. Not in attendance or represented by an alternate were Willie Redmond and Seidu Sofo.

Kathy Mangels was present as a guest


The Faculty Senate took votes for the new Legislative Committee Chairs and also for the Chair-Elect. The results of the voting are:

Chair-Elect—Diane Wood Membership
Chair—Willie Redmond
Membership Committee—Willie Redmond, Janice Ward, Joyce Renaud, Eric Clements, Julie Weathers, and Claudia Ruediger


Kathy Mangels informed the Senate that JW Terrill has met with everyone in the University. JW Terrill is researching existing data for faculty and staff. They have a lot of variables to go through to determine where and how to apply the merit raise. JW Terrill has to compare data, match this information with faculty and staff, and create data they can work from. The University also has to provide them with information such as years in rank, promotions, years of experience in positions, performance criteria, etc. They should have a report by the end of June and it will be shared with everyone.


Senator Jung moved to adjourn. Senator Peng seconded. The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:50 pm.