Minutes - November 17, 2004

Minutes - November 17, 2004

Vol. XXXIX, No.8


November 17, 2004

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, November 17, 2004, in the Program Lounge of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Susan Swartwout (presiding), James Champine, Bruce Hathaway, Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, Michael Cobb, Marc Fulgham, Kathy Gilliland, Linda Heitman, Arrick Jackson, Daniel MacLeay, Cheryl Milde, Bruce Mims, David Naugler, Carolyn Rainey, David Smith, Bonnie Stepenoff, Marc Strauss Rebecca Summary, Mohan Tikoo, Pat Willingham, Martha Zlokovich, and Min Zou. Alternates Stanley Grand and Mary Montavon, and Senate Secretary Paula Cunningham were also present.

Provost Stephens, Student Government President Dane Huxel, and Student Government Liaison Heather Valle also attended. Guests attending were Registrar Sandy Hinkle, Dean Irene Ferguson, Sharon Burgard and Mishea Culbreath.

Absent, and not represented by their Alternates, were David Baird, Janice Chadha and Kevin Squibb.

Discussion of Student Government Resolution for 8-week Grade Reporting

Chair Swartwout asked the Senate's permission to change the order of the agenda items. All were in favor.

Chair Swartwout introduced members of the Professional Advising team Mishea Culbreath and Sharon Burgard, Registrar Sandy Hinkle, and Dean of Students Dr. Irene Ferguson. Discussion ensued on the merits of midterm grade reporting in either a 6- or 8-week format. Dean Ferguson pointed out that the three-year period for review had not been completed, so the Senate chose not to act on the Student Spring semester. Student government representative Heather Valle thanked the Senate for their consideration, and she and SGA President Huxel agreed to continue 6-week grading in March 2005 to complete the 3-year timeline. At that time they would bring their resolution forward to take effect in Fall of 2005 if supported.


The Vol. XXXIX NO.7 Minutes of November 3, 2004, were approved with editorial changes. (Tikoo/Stepenoff)

The Chair reported that Committee Chairs do not need to send the minutes to the chair in advance of the Senate meeting. Only send them if the committee chair wants them on the web site. Otherwise, the oral committee reports during Senate meeting go into the minutes – not your complete written report.
Chair Swartwout stated that the new Higher Education Commissioner is Dr. Gregory Fitch.
The Faculty Advisory Committee meets Thursday night (November 18). If a second meeting is needed it will be Monday November 22.
An issue arose recently regarding the membership of the University Grievance Committee. The Faculty Senate Grievance Committee chair, Larry Underberg, was unable to attend the meeting of the University Grievance Committee. He had asked if he could have a substitute go in his place to the committee meeting. President Dobbins said he could not because it is in the Policies and Procedures Manual description of the committee that it has to be the chair of the Senate Grievance Committee who is in attendance.
Chair Swartwout read a letter from the President she had received in response to a letter she had written on behalf of the Senate concerning library faculty. President Dobbins stated his ongoing support of shared governance and open discussion, and offered to change the timeline, if necessary, on decisions regarding the library review so that Faculty Senate would have the opportunity for input.


Provost Stephens did not present a report.


The Student Government Liaison did not present a report.


Academic Affairs

Senator Tikoo, chair of the committee, said that the Academic Affairs Committee did not have a report.


Senator Naugler, chair of the committee, reported that the Compensation Committee met on November 15, 2004. The Committee discussed the feasibility of an FTE and salary budget study, calling for a salary adjustment (equity) review, and agreed that such a review is needed. It also agreed that such a study would best be done in cooperation with the administration. The problem of salary compression was noted. The Committee agreed that the study should be started this year academic year even if it is not completed until the next academic year. Further investigation is needed to update the previous study.

The committee noted that part-time and other contingent faculty members are only indirectly represented on Senate, in compensation as in other issues, and that we should keep their needs in mind. The committee discussed summer courses, both on summer salary and especially on the assignment of summer classes. The committee added that Professional Development Funds need to be increased.

The Committee welcomes input from faculty on this topic or any other compensation issue.


Senator MacLeay, chair of the committee, said that the Documents Committee did not have a report.


Senator Zlokovich, chair of the committee, said that the Governance Committee did not have a report.


Senator Hathaway, chair of the committee, said that the Membership Committee did not have a report.

Professional Affairs

Senator Althaus, chair of the committee, reported that the Committee reviewed the CSTL page that hosts the survey on the Student Evaluation of Instruction Policy. Some minor suggestions were made regarding layout and aesthetics. The Committee also reviewed the AAUP “Joint Statement on Faculty Status of College and University Librarians,” as well as Faculty Senate Bill 85-A-03, from the Faculty Handbook. The former clearly states that librarians should have faculty status since they are participants in the processes of teaching and research, and the latter clarifies librarian faculty status and the role of the Library in campus governance. The Committee reaffirmed its feeling that librarians should maintain their faculty status, and discussed mechanisms by which the Senate might weigh in on the issue.

Johnson Faculty Centre

Chair-elect Champine reported that the Johnson Faculty Centre members had a meeting on November 5. Some of the ideas related to increasing participation included creating a page in the University website including an on-line application. Members of the JFC Board of Directors were urged to join. The possibility of raising the housing fee from $20 to $25 was discussed. Senators were reminded to attend the December 3rd Holiday Open House.


Discussion of the motion by the Grievance Committee to change the grievance policy was held. The changes involved directing the Grievance Committee to make its report to the Faculty Senate Executive committee rather than the full Senate (unless the grievant wished to), and the Senate Executive Committee would have 20 days to frame an appropriate recommendation to the person(s) who might take the correct action. Senator Althaus pointed out that this was a resolution and would only affect Senate bylaws, not Handbook policy. Senator Althaus agreed to draft the resolution.

Chair Swartwout suggested changing the phrasing “report grievances to the Senate“ to “report issues to the Senate” so that Senate could deliberate problems affecting the entire faculty without interrupting the privacy of the particular grievance. Provost Stephens advised that any personnel issue should also be reviewed by the University attorney. The resolution passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Wednesday, December 1, in the Missouriana Room.