Minutes - September 15, 2004

Minutes - September 15, 2004

Vol. XXXIX, No. 4


September 15, 2004

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Susan Swartwout (presiding), James Champine, Bruce Hathaway, Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, Janice Chadha, Michael Cobb, Mary Ann DeLine, Marc Fulgham, Linda Heitman, Daniel MacLeay, Cheryl Milde, Bruce Mims, David Naugler, Carolyn Rainey, David Smith, Bonnie Stepenoff, Marc Strauss, Rebecca Summary, Mohan Tikoo, Pat Willingham, Mack Wilson, Martha Zlokovich, and Min Zou. Alternate Stanley Grand and Senate Secretary Paula Cunningham were also present. Provost Stephens and Student Government Representative Heather Valle also attended.

Absent, and not represented by their Alternates, were David Baird, Kathy Gilliland, Arrick Jackson, and Kevin Squibb.


The Vol. XXXIX Minutes 39-03 were approved with editorial changes. (Strauss/Chadha).


The Faculty Senate wished Student Government Representative Heather Valle a happy 21st birthday.

Chair Swartwout stated that three dates on the Schedule for meetings have changed. There is no meeting in January 2005. In the month of February, February 1 and February 15 should be changed to Feburary 2 and February 16. The Faculty Senate Schedule on the Homepage reflects the changes.

The Chair announced that Chair Elect Jim Champine will be serving as the voting representative from the University on the Missouri Association of Faculty Senates this year. Former Senator Craig Roberts is serving as President of MAFS.

The Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours meeting is Tuesday, September 21, 5:00 – 6:60 at the Show Me Center.

Chair Swartwout reported that Dr. Roberts is now serving as the Director of the Honors Program.

Student Portal is up and will replace Student NewsSource..
The Chair asked for a volunteer from the Senate to be a Faculty Senate representative to the Student Government. Senator Fulgham agreed to be the Senate's representative.
The Chair stated that the Faculty Senate will certainly miss Dan Dunavan who passed away during the summer. Several Senators spoke about their relationship with Dan.


The Provost reiterated that Operations funds available are $135,000. Of that amount Academic Affairs will receive approximately $87,000. The money will be used primarily for Operations rather than for Equipment and will be distributed on an FTE basis.


Ms. Valle reported that the Student Government has had their first meeting and voted on several funding board recommendations. Special elections will be held to fill 12 seats.


Academic Affairs

Senator Tikoo, chair of the committee, distributed a copy of the minutes of a meeting held on September 8, 2004. Senator Tikoo moved and Senator Mims seconded a motion to refer the issue of increasing audience size at the Commencement ceremony to the Commencement Committee. All were in favor.

Other ongoing issues include the development of the 5-Year Academic Calendar, Six-Week Grade Reporting, Faculty Satisfaction Survey, and technical support and equipment problems in on-line courses. The committee suggested that in a future Faculty Satisfaction Survey, a question should be added to determine if information technology has affected morale. The committee is waiting for a response from the Kent Library representative regarding the Fourth Draft from Dean Jones on Academic Distinction in the Major Discipline.


Senator Naugler, chair of the committee, did not give a report.


Senator MacLeay, chair of the committee, reported that the committee met to discuss maintaining the archives and plan to create a set of archival guidelines for future Documents committees. Last year's materials have been taken to Kent Library.


Senator Hathaway, chair of the committee, distributed the current list of Senators and Alternates. He also encouraged all senators to serve on a Legislative Committee.


Senator Zlokovich, chair of the committee, asked for two Senators to serve on the Governance Committee. The Governance Committee will meet in the Johnson Faculty Centre at 3:30 on September 22.

Professional Affairs Committee

Senator Althaus, chair of the committee, reported that the Committee met several times during the summer, continuing to work on the issues of the Student Evaluation of Instruction Policy and the Promotion Policy. In addition, the Committee and the University Promotion Committee attended the July 20th retreat of Deans and Chairs to hear comments and questions about the promotion policy and related practices. The Committee plans to bring to the Senate a recommendation concerning the promotion notification timeline to address the concerns expressed by the Deans last spring.

In addition, the Committee has finalized its design of a faculty survey on the Student Evaluation of Instruction Policy. It will be administered by electronic means within the next few weeks. Senators are asked to be aware of the survey and to assist in encouraging their colleagues to participate.


New Senator Rebecca Summary was introduced.

Important informational sessions will be held on the new health insurance. Enrollment will be from October 11 through October 22 and will be available online.

The New Faculty Reception will be held at the Johnson Faculty Centre on September 29, 3:00 to 4:30 p.m.

Emeritus Faculty (Executive Session)

Senator Althaus, chair of the committee, moved that ten faculty members be granted emeritus status contingent on their retirement. Senator Tikoo seconded the motion. All were in favor.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Wednesday, October 6, in the Missouriana Room.