Minutes - May 12, 2004

Minutes - May 12, 2004

Vol. XXXIX, No. 2


May 12, 2004

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, May 12, 2004, in the Glenn Auditorium of the Robert A. Dempster Building. The following Senators were present: Susan Swartwout (presiding), James Champine, Bruce Hathaway, Rick Althaus, Mary Ambery, David Baird, Janice Chadha, Ronald Clayton, Daniel Dunavan, Linda Heitman, Daniel MacLeay, Cheryl Milde, Bruce Mims, David Naugler, Carolyn Rainey, David Smith, Bonnie Stepenoff, Marc Strauss, Pat Willingham, Mack Wilson, Martha Zlokovich, and Min Zou. Dr. Craig Roberts and Senate Secretary Paula Cunningham also were present.

Absent, and not represented by their Alternates, were Michael Cobb, Mary Ann DeLine, Kathy Gilliland, and Mohan Tikoo

Minutes Vol. VVVXIII, No. 28 was approved as written. (Rainey/Althaus)
Minutes Vol. VVVXIX, No. 1 was approved as written. (Rainey/Althaus)


Chair Swartwout reported on the following items.

The first Faculty Senate meeting for the 2004-2005 academic year will be Wednesday, September 1, in Room 125 of Crisp Hall. She asked the Senators to pick up the Senate meeting schedule for 2004-2005.
Senator Heitman has agreed to be the Faculty Senate representative on the Human Resources Search Committee, which will recommend a candidate to replace Phil Brodeur.
The University Planning Committee has completed its work for this academic year. The Mission Statement and Priorities are linked to the Provost's web site.
The Faculty Advisory Coqmittee has started its work for Phase II of the Program Review. The committee began meeting on May 12 and during the next two weeks will review approximately 90 programs. Based on this review, the committee will recommend a one-, two-, or three-year review cycle for the program.
Since the Missouri State Budget is coming into focus, the Budget Review Committee has agreed to:
a.a 2% increase, or a $600 increase, in base salary for each faculty and staff member, whichever is of greater benefit to the employee;
b. an additional $500 to be placed in the employee's medical reimbursement account;
c.a 1% increase, amounting to $135,000, in the Operations Accounts, which is only half of the figure requested by the deans;
d.a $2 per credit hour rollback of student fees since the Board of Regents had approved the most recent fee increases with the provision that a rollback would be implemented when financially feasible; and
e.funding the Employee Assistance Plan with base dollars.
Chair Swartwout read a letter from Dr. Ivy Locke, Vice President for Business and Finance, detailing the procedures to be followed regarding subpoenas.
a.A lawfully-issued subpoena must be served in person. A subpoena that is sent by fax has not been properly served.
b.If out-of-town travel is required, then a check should accompany the subpoena.
c.An employee receiving a subpoena must immediately notify the appropriate division head or Vice President or the Provost, who will notify the President.


Provost Stephens had another meeting and was unable to attend.


The new Student Government will not meet until September 2004.


For the benefit of new Senators, the committee chairs summarized the major issues for next year.

Academic Affairs

Senator Tikoo, chair of the committee, was unable to attend the meeting. Members of the committee reported that attendance, the Five-Year Academic Calendar, grade inflation, high-tech class rooms, and web courses will be issues for future consideration.


Senator Heitman, member of the committee, reported that employee orientation for the new health insurance program will begin this fall assuming progress continues smoothly throughout the summer.


Senator MacLeay, chair of the committee, said the committee plans to continue archiving the Faculty Senate records and updating the Faculty Handbook.


Senator Zlokovich, chair of the committee, said procedures for handling grievances in an effective, efficient, and timely fashion will be considered.


Senator Hathaway, chair of the committee, distributed copies of the committee's recommendations for committee chairs.

Academic Affairs CommitteeMohan Tikoo
Compensation CommitteeDavid Naugler
Documents CommitteeDaniel MacLeay
Governance CommitteeMartha Zlokovich
Membership CommitteeBruce Hathaway
Professional Affairs CommitteeRick Althaus

Senator Hathaway moved and Senator Heitman seconded a motion to accept the committee's recommendations for committee chairs. The motion passed.

Professional Affairs

Senator Althaus, chair of the committee, reported that the issues to be considered by the committee during the 2004-2005 year are to complete the required review of the Student Evaluation of Instruction Policy, continue the follow-up study of the 2002-2003 changes to the Promotion and Tenure Policies, and revisit the sexual orientation/nondiscrimination issue.


Discussion of Governance Recommendations for Grievance Procedures

Dr. Craig Roberts, previous chair of the Governance Committee, presented the committee's recommendations for a rewording of the Grievance Committee's charge in the Faculty Senate bylaws that would send the Grievance Committee's report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, which in turn would have a specific number of business days to forward a recommendation to the appropriate decision maker or decision-making body. After discussion focusing on whether the Grievance Committee should send its report to a Faculty Senate body or simply forward it directly to the appropriate decision maker or decision-making body, Senator Dunavan moved and Senator Hathaway seconded a motion to table the issue. By a voice vote, the motion to table passed.



Chair Swartwout stated that she had received a suggestion that Faculty Senate study the possibility of creating an ombudsman office. The Senate turned the matter over to the Governance Committee for further consideration.

Chair Swartwout wished the Senators a happy summer.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Wednesday, September 1, 2004, in Room 125 of Crisp Hall.