Minutes - May 7, 2008

Minutes - May 7, 2008


May 7, 2008

The opening session of the 43rd convening of the Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University was held on Wednesday, May 7, in the Party Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Martha Zlokovich (acting as Chair), Mary Elizabeth Ambery (Chair), Jim McGill (Membership Committee Chair), Rick Althaus, Julie Banks, David Briggs, Stephanie Chamberlain, Michael Cobb, Kathy Conway, Kim Dillivan, Marc Fulgham, Benjie Heu, Elaine Jackson, Daniel MacLeay, David Naugler, Walt Paquin, Joyce Renaud, Willie Redmond, Albie Sautter, Brad Deken (Alternate), Rick Sebby, Seidu Sofo, Marc Strauss, Alan Journet (Alternate), Carol Veneziano, Haohao Wang and her alternate Candide Walton, and Janice Ward.

Absent and not represented by their Alternates were: Larry Underberg and Jill Young. The Management and Marketing Department was unrepresented.


Nominations were opened for the Chair-elect position. Senator Althaus nominated Senator Chamberlain. Senator McGill nominated Senator Redmond. Senator Redmond withdrew his nomination because of time restraints in the upcoming semester. Senator Chamberlain was elected by acclamation.

Ballots were distributed to select a representative from each college and Kent Library for the Membership Committee. The following individuals were selected to represent their colleges: Willie Redmond (Business); Carol Veneziano (Health and Human Services); Jim McGill (Science and Mathematics); Janice Ward (Education); Julie Banks (Kent Library); Marc Strauss (Liberal Arts); and Sophia Scott (School of Polytechnic Studies).

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 PM.

Approved September 17, 2008