Minutes - May 6, 2009

Minutes - May 6, 2009

XLIV, No. 1


May 6, 2009

The opening session of the 44th convening of the Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University was held on Wednesday, May 6, in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Stephanie Chamberlain (Chair), Rick Althaus, Julie Banks, David Briggs, Kathy Conway, Kevin Dickson, Marc Fulgham, Bruce Hathaway, Elaine Jackson, Alan Journet, Don Jung, Daniel MacLeay, David Naugler, Walt Paquin, Alberta Sautter (Alternate), Joyce Renaud, Sophia Scott, Rick Sebby, Kathy Smith, Seidu Sofo, Raj Somarajan, Sven Svenson, Larry Underberg, Carol Veneziano, Haohao Wang, Janice Ward, and Victor Wilburn.

Absent and not represented by their Alternates were: Mike Cobb, Phil Nacy, and Willie Redmond.


Nominations were opened for the Chair-elect position. Senator Althaus nominated Senator MacLeay. Senator Ward nominated Senator Scott. Senator Scott was elected by a majority vote.

Ballots were distributed to select a representative from each college and Kent Library for the Membership Committee. The following individuals were selected to represent their colleges: Willie Redmond (Business); Walt Paquin (Health and Human Services); Mike Cobb (Science and Mathematics); Janice Ward (Education); Julie Banks (Kent Library); Larry Underberg (Liberal Arts); and Sven Svenson (School of Polytechnic Studies).

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 PM.

Approved September 16, 2009