Minutes - May 5, 2010

Minutes - May 5, 2010

XLV, No. 1


May 5, 2010

The opening session of the forty-fifth convening of the Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University was held on Wednesday, May 5, 2010, in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. Attending were: Sophia Scott (Chair), Rick Althaus, Claudia Ruediger, Eric Clements, Stephanie Chamberlain, Larry Bohannon, Rachel Morgan Theall, Kevin Dickson, Elaine Jackson, Diane Wood, Don Jung, Debra Lee-DiStefano, Phil Nacy, David Naugler, Walt Paquin, David Powell, Willie Redmond, Joyce Renaud, Rick Sebby, Chris Wubbena, Seidu Sofo, Raj Somarajan, Sven Svenson, Larry Underberg, Haohao Wang, Janice Ward, Victor Wilburn, and alternate Jim Sifferman. Also in attendance were Provost Rosati, Student Regent Brian Kelly and Dr. Mike Cobb.

Absent and not represented by an alternate were Jian Peng and Carol Veneziano.

Chair Scott welcomed the Senators to the 45th session and opened the floor for nominations for Chair-elect. Senator Paquin nominated Senator Dickson. As there were no other nominations, Senator Dickson was elected by acclamation.

Elections for the Membership Committee were held. Those elected were Willie Redmond (Business), Walt Paquin (Health/Human Services), Diane Wood (Science & Mathematics), Janice Ward (Education), Don Jung (Liberal Arts), Claudia Ruediger (Kent Library) and Sven Svenson (Polytechnic Studies). Janice Ward was elected Chair of the Membership Committee.

Chair Scott called for an adjournment so that the newly-elected Membership Committee could elect a chair.

Approved September 15, 2010