Minutes - May 02, 2007

Minutes - May 02, 2007


May 02, 2007

The opening session of the 42nd convening of the Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University was held on Wednesday, May 02, in the Missouriana Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Michael L. Cobb (acting as Chair), Martha Zlokovich (Chair), David Smith (Membership Committee Chair), Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, David Briggs, Stephanie Chamberlain, Mary Ann DeLine, Kim Dillivan, Marc Fulgham, Benjie Heu, Elaine Jackson, David James, Daniel MacLeay, Jim McGill, Willie Redmond, Marc Strauss, Lucinda Swatzell, Larry Underberg, Haohao Wang, Xuesong Zhang, and Min Zou.

Absent and not represented by their Alternates were: Beth Easter, Priscilla Hornby, Jayanti Ray, Albie Sautter, Sophia Scott, Carol Veneziano, Janice Ward, and Jill Young.


Nominations were opened for the Chair-elect position. Senator Zhang nominated Senator Smith. Senator Fulgham nominated Senator Swatzell. Senator Dillivan nominated Senator Ambery. Senator Ambery was elected by a simple majority vote.

Ballots were distributed to select a representative from each college and Kent Library for the Membership Committee. The following individuals were selected to represent their colleges: Willie Redmond (Business); Beth Easter (Health and Human Services); Jim McGill (Science and Mathematics); Janice Ward (Education); David James (Kent Library); Marc Fulgham (Liberal Arts); and Sophia Scott (School of Polytechnic Studies).

The election for Membership Committee Chair was postponed due to lack of attendance among the Membership Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 PM.

Approved May 9, 2007