Minutes - April 19, 2006

Minutes - April 19, 2006

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 19, 2006, in the Party Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: James Champine (Chair), Michael Cobb (Chair-Elect), David Smith (Membership Committee Chair), Rick Althaus, Mary Elizabeth Ambery, Albie Sautter (Alternate), Kim Dillivan, Marc Fulgham, Kathy Gilliland, Priscilla Hornby, Elaine Jackson, Daniel MacLeay, Jim McGill, Cheryl Milde, Bruce Mims, Debbie Beard (Alternate), Jayanti Ray, David Reinheimer, Sophia Scott, Lucinda Swatzell, Haohao Wang, David Glick (Alternate), Xuesong Zhang, Martha Zlokovich, and Min Zou. Provost Stephens, Grievance Committee Chair Larry Underberg, Grants and Research Funding Chair Mohammed Ali, and Student Government Liaison Heather Valle were also present.

Absent and not represented by their Alternates were: Ronald Clayton, Arrick Jackson, Bonnie Stepenhoff, Marc Strauss, and Rebecca Summary.

Approval of the Minutes
Approval of minutes Vol. XL-14 was moved by Senator Smith and seconded by Senator Althaus. The motion carried.

Report from the Chair
Chair Champine described the major achievements of the Faculty Senate and distributed his final report.

Report from the Administrative Liaison
Provost Stephens thanked the Faculty Senate for a successful and productive year. She also commended the Senate on doing an excellent job relative to recommendations on Senate reform. She commented that the Senate is given much more esteem than when she began as Provost. Provost Stephens expressed her appreciation for the collegiality of the Senate and their relationship with administration.

Report from the Student Government Liaison
Student Government Liaison, Heather Valle thanked the Faculty Senate and stated that it had been a pleasure serving with them the past two years. She also thanked Senator Reinheimer on behalf of the Student Government (SG) for serving as the Faculty Senate Liaison.

Heather Valle and the Student Government brought a cake to the meeting in appreciation for the excellent year. Chair Champine thanked Ms. Valle and the Student Government for the nice gesture.

Legislative Committee Reports

Academic Affairs
Senator Reinheimer described the major achievements of the committee, and distributed his final report.

Senator Milde distributed the final report and indicated that the Board of Regents will meet on April 24, 2006, to approve the budget.

Senator MacLeay described the major achievements of the committee and distributed his final report. He also indicated that there were two issues that the committee considered, but were unable to resolve. Both issues were included in his printed report.

Senator Zlokovich indicated that the Grievance Policy is being reviewed by the lawyers, and she should be able to bring it to the Senate during the next session.

Senator Smith distributed his report. He indicated that Marc Fulgham and Mike Cobb were re-elected for another term.

Professional Affairs
Senator Mims described the major achievements of the committee and distributed his final report.

Reporting Committee Reports

Grants and Research Funding Committee
Chair Mohammed Ali distributed his final report. He indicated that there may be some discrepancies in the guidelines and suggested that they be reviewed. He also indicated that there were adequate funds remaining, and a third call for proposals has been issued.

Grievance Committee
Chair Larry Underberg distributed his year end report. He indicated that the Committee recommended that the appropriate Faculty Senate Committee clarify the meaning of the Faculty Handbook prohibition that department chairpersons “not participate in committee deliberations”. He indicated that the scope of the Chair's role needs to be clarified.

Johnson Faculty Centre Committee
Senator Cobb distributed the final report and indicated that the Centre finished out the term with $5,562 in operations budget.

Old Business

Senator Althaus distributed a resolution that calls upon the President and the Board of Regents to revisit the University Nondiscrimination Statement and include a provision making it clear that the University does not discriminate based upon sexual orientation.

Professional Affairs moved to adopt the resolution and was seconded by Senator Cobb. Chair Champine called for a vote, and it passed unanimously.

New Business

Senator Mims asked for a motion to suspend the rules to consider a resolution recognizing Heather Valle as an honorary Senator. Senator Althaus moved (Cobb seconded) to suspend the rules, and the motion carried. Senator Mims then cited Ms Valle's many qualities as a student and contributing member of the campus community and moved recognition for her as a retiring Senator. Senator Reinheimer seconded the motion and likewise praised her. The motion carried unanimously.

Paula Cunningham was presented with a card and a small gift from the Senators in appreciation for her treats over the past year. Chair Champine recognized her assistance in helping him and Dana Glass with items of Senate business.

Outgoing Chair Champine presented certificates of appreciation to outgoing senators Bruce Mims and Cheryl Milde. Chair-elect Cobb heartily thanked Chair Champine for his successful stewardship of the Senate and presented him with a plaque and gavel.

The Senate moved to executive session.

Chair Champine presented Dana Glass with a card and expressed his appreciation on behalf of the Senate.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 PM

Approved May 03, 2006