Minutes - April 18, 2012

Minutes - April 18, 2012

XLVI, No. 17
April 18, 2012

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 in the UC Missouriana/Redhawks Room. The following Senators were present: Kevin Dickson, Janice Ward, Chuck McAllister, Claudia Ruediger, Tiffany Parker, Joyce Renaud, Willie Redmond, Ziping Liu, David Powell, Stephanie Chamberlain, Chris Wubbena, Jian Peng, Sophia Scott, Victor Wilburn, Larry Underberg, Seidu Sofo, Eric Clements, Carol Veneziano, Marcus Bond, Brandon Christensen, Diane Wood, Don Jung, Phil Nacy, Larry Bohannon, Melissa Odegard, Desma Reno, Doug Atwood, and Julie Weathers. The following alternates were in attendance: Brooke Clubbs and HaoHao Wang. Student Government Liaison Rebecca Masur was also in Attendance. Not in Attendance or represented by an alternate were Susan Wehring, Jeff Luetkenhaus, Debra Lee-DiStefano, and Rick Althaus.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes from November 30, 2011 and March 21, 2012 were approved.

Old Business

No old business.

New Business

Awards were given to the following Senators, whose terms were expiring: Senator Rick Althaus, Senator Brandon Christensen, Senator Debra Lee-DiStefano, Senator Phil Nacy, Senator David Powell, Senator Seidu Sofo, Senator Janice Ward, Senator Victor Wilburn, and Senator Diane Wood. There was also an award given to the Student Government Liaison Rebecca Masur.


Provost Rosati commented on how impressed he was with the work of the Senate under Kevin Dickson's leadership and how this is a model for shared governance, and how administrative functions are better.

Chair Report

Chair Kevin Dickson appreciates the patience with files, the productive sessions, and the work of the committees and their chairs. He also stated that this year there were 8 resolutions and 42 bills passed, the highest in the last 10 years, and 19 emeritus recommendations, which is a record.

Student Government Liaison

Rebecca Masur reminded everyone of the banquet next week. The budget for Student government has passed. The resolution supports (ADA) for testing services. Also she announced Bethany Rosenthal as the new representative.

Legislative Committee Reports

Academic Affairs - Senator Don Jung thanked the committee for all their hard work. They were able to complete revisions of 10 sections of the handbook and 20 bills.
Compensation - Senator Debra Lee-DiStefano stated she was working with a great bunch of people. She also stated that the RNTT merit has increased.
Documents - Senator Victor Wilburn thanked Senator Joyce Renaud for her supports and also thanked his committee.
Governance - Senator Phil Nacy thanked his committee on the hard work they accomplished. The committee was able to complete 5 sections of the handbook.
Membership - Senator Diane Wood acknowledged the committee members for all their hard work. Dr. Wood indicated there are 22 openings on the AQIP committee and thanked the Senate for their support.
Professional Affairs - Senator Rick Althaus stated the Senate originally had no committees and they would just meet every week in groups, and today it is much more efficient. Senator Don Jung stated that the year-end report sets “impossible standards”.
Grievance - Senator Larry Underberg thanked the committee and told them how impressed he was with those involved and their cooperation. There were two grievances alleged violations of due process and academic freedom. He also said he was surprised by the number of complaints that stem from interpersonal issues.


The Faculty Senate adjourned at 3:50 p.m. to reconvene for the 47th session.