Minutes - March 19, 2008

Minutes - March 19, 2008

XLII, No. 15


March 19, 2008

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, March 19, 2008, in the University Center Missouriana Room.The following Senators were present: Martha Zlokovich (Chair), Mary Elizabeth Ambery (Chair-Elect), Jim McGill (Membership Chair), Rick Althaus, Julie Banks, David Briggs, Stephanie Chamberlain, Michael Cobb, Kathy Conway, Wes Mueller (Alternate), Marc Fulgham, Priscilla Hornby, Elaine Jackson, Daniel MacLeay, Jayanti Ray, Willie Redmond, Albie Sautter, Sophia Scott, David Smith, Marc Strauss, Alan Journet (Alternate), Larry Underberg, Carol Veneziano, Haohao Wang, Janice Ward, Jill Young, and Xuesong Zhang.Student Government Liaison Mark Wilhelm was also in attendance.

Absent and not represented by an alternate were Benjie Heu and Seidu Sofo.


Approval of minutes Volume XLII-14 was moved by Senator Underberg and seconded by Senator Scott.The minutes were approved.


Chair Zlokovich reported that a flyer had been distributed inviting faculty to attend a forum concerning the General Education Review.She encouraged faculty to participate.

Chair Zlokovich indicated that during the Council of Deans meeting they discussed the Faculty Advisory Committee for Academic Program Reviews.The current Committee will be reviewing 18 programs.

Chair Zlokovich reported that CSTL has extended their SOTL grant applications, and may post an announcement on the Senate Forum.She reminded faculty that the OIS Forum is a method for senators as well as all other faculty to communicate with one another.


Provost Stephens did not attend the Faculty Senate meeting to allow the Senate to discuss the Faculty Tenure and Promotion Bill at the Senate's request.


Student Government Liaison, Mark Wilhelm, reported that Student Government (SG) voted to increase its' members from 36 to 43.Members will be selected from each college.Their hope is to increase communication between the colleges and the SG.

Mr. Wilhelm reported that Dennis Holt attended a SG meeting and spoke about Information Technology issues.Dean Starrett also attended and surveyed the SG about Grade A.Student senators expressed an interest in making Grade A mandatory along with a basic class website and calendar.Mr. Wilhelm asked if faculty currently get incentives for using Grade A.The Senators indicated that they do not.Mr. Wilhelm indicated that the SG is looking at the possibility of offering incentives for faculty who use Grade A.

Mr. Wilhelm reported that the SG is currently taking nominations for the Faculty Award.



Senator McGill, Chair of the Membership Committee, reported that a solicitation was sent out for seven representatives to the University Equity Issues Committee.He indicated that two names are needed from each college, the School of Polytechnic Studies, and Kent Library.Nominations will be sent to the President for selection of one representative for each unit.Senator McGill encouraged qualified candidates to respond to the solicitation.A rotation plan is also being developed to ensure that all seven faculty representatives do not rotate off this Committee at the same time in the future.

Senator McGill reported that senators whose terms are expiring this academic year have been notified and asked to verify records.Once confirmed, affected departments will be notified of impending elections for Senate representation.

Senator McGill reported that Senator Swatzell is stepping down as Chairperson of the Governance committee but is continuing to serve on the Committee; Senator Wang is recommended to succeed Senator Swatzell as Chairperson of this Committee for the remainder of the academic year.Senator McGill made a motion, seconded by Senator Journet, to accept the recommendation.The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Zlokovich asked that it be reiterated during committee solicitations that departments should never have meetings from 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM on Wednesdays as it interferes with department representation at Faculty Senate meetings.In addition, departments should only elect a senator and an alternate who are free every Wednesday from 3:00 – 5:00.

Professional Affairs

Senator Althaus, Chair of Professional Affairs, reported that an emeritus bill will be considered under executive session.

Academic Affairs

Senator Cobb, Chair of Academic Affairs, reported that the Committee is working on guidelines for the use of student surveys for the posting of consumer information in compliance with SB389.


The Documents Committee did not have a report.


The Governance Committee did not have a report.


The Compensation Committee did not have a report.

Senator Zlokovich reported that Elizabeth Shelton spoke during the Budget Review meeting.She is requesting $300,000 be budgeted for marketing the University.She explained that is a one-time request going towards a research-based approach to marketing.


Senator Althaus made a motion to approve the revised Faculty Tenure and Promotion Policy.The motion was seconded by Senator Journet.Senator Althaus distributed a document on the responses to the 24-point list of suggested changes from Administration.The Senate held discussion on the revisions made to the Policy.The motion to approve the bill passed with 26 votes.One abstained.


There was no new business considered.

The Senate moved to executive session.

Senator Journet made a motion, seconded by Senator Ambery, to approve a bill granting emeritus status to Thomas V. Wencewicz.The motion passed unanimously.


The motion to adjourn (Scott/Ambery) was recognized and approved at 5:00 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate Meeting will be April 02, 2008, in the University Center Party Room at 3:00 p.m.