Chapter 7

Section B. University No Smoking Policy

[Faculty Senate Bill 88-A-02 begins here.]

Southeast Missouri State University will provide as close to a tobacco-free environment as practicable for its faculty, staff, and students. In all cases, the right of the tobacco non-user to protect his or her health and comfort will take precedence over another person's desire to use tobacco. Consequently, as of September 1, 1988, the use of all forms of tobacco is prohibited in all University buildings except in those locations designated by the President of the University as "smoking areas."

The success of the policy depends upon the thoughtfulness, consideration and cooperation of users and non-users of tobacco. All faculty and staff share the responsibility for adhering to and enforcing this policy. Any concern with the possible violation of this policy should be brought to the attention of the appropriate supervisor, dean, or director.

Bill 88-A-02 Approved by Faculty Senate, February 17, 1988
Approved by Board of Regents - May 23, 1988