Chapter 1

Section C. Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education

The Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education was authorized by an amendment to the Missouri Constitution in 1972 and established by statute in the Omnibus State Reorganization Act of 1974. The Coordinating Board oversees the Department of Higher Education. Board members are appointed from each congressional district by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. The board members serve six-year terms; no more than five of the nine members can be affiliated with the same political party.

The Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education's major statewide planning and coordination goals are to promote academic quality, to ensure the efficient use of resources, and to provide financial access to the system of higher education. The board includes the state's independent institutions, as well as the public institutions, in its planning activities.

The board's functions include statewide planning for higher education; policy analysis and data reporting; approval of new degree programs; student financial assistance; appropriations recommendations to the governor and Missouri General Assembly for public two- and four-year colleges' and universities' operating and capital funding; state aid for public libraries; and proprietary school certification. The board has administrative responsibility for the Missouri Student Grant Program, the Missouri Student Loan Program, the Missouri Higher Education Academic Scholarship Program, the Marguerite Ross Barnett Scholarship Program, and additional financial aid programs that have yet to be funded. The Board is also responsible for several federal programs. The CBHE published an "Integrated Strategic Plan," which is available on the CBHE website-