LIII No. 15 Faculty Senate Minutes April 10, 2019

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 10, 2019. The following Senator were present: Shamik Bhattacharya, Larry Bohannon, Tamara Buck, Eric Clements, Beverly Evans, Patricia Farrish, Erin Fluegge, Ruben Gerding, Dena Hale Joni Hand, Laura Hatcher, Jonathan Hayes, Carl Hess, Roberta Humphrey, Carl Kinnison, Ziping Liu, Kim Louie, David Mauk, Elizabeth McFarland, Kathie Miller, David Powell, Christina Ragain, Desma Reno, Jingjing Tong, Nicolas Wilkins, Jerzy Wojdylo, and Diane Wood. Interim Provost Randolph, and Renee Owens, Student Government Liaison, were also present.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes for March 6, 2019 (53.13) and March 27, 2019 (53.17) were both approved.

New Business

Senator Evans introduced bills 19-A-X – Student Evaluations Policy and 19-A-X – Student Evaluations Procedures. The floor was opened up for discussion. A few amendments were discussed. Senator Evans asked that the Senate take these bills back to their departments for feedback and stated a vote will be taken on them at the next Senate meeting.

Senator Bohannon introduced bill 19-A-X – University No Smoking Policy. He explained to the Senate that the documents committee didn't find it necessary to have this in the Faculty Handbook. This policy is mentioned already in the handbook and is redirected to the Business Policy and Procedures Manual; therefore, this section can be removed. The Senate will vote on this bill at the next meeting.

Old Business

Chair Powell went over the Wintersession Task Force Report. Discussion took place over the findings. Senator Hand also went over the Faculty morale Task Force Report and discussion over these findings were discussed as well.

Reports

Senator Reno went over a few topics that are being discussed in budget review. She asked the Senate if they would still like to contribute to the post professorial merit. It was discussed among the Senators and they voted that they will continue contribute by what the Faculty Handbook states.

There were no Legislative Committee Reports due to time limitations.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be April 24, 2019 in the UC Redhawks Room from 3-5 p.m.