LIII No. 16 Faculty Senate Minutes April 24, 2019

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 24, 2019 in the UC Redhawks Room. The following Senators were present: Larry Bohannon, Tamara Buck, Eric Clements, Beverly Evans, Erin Fluegge, Susan Fulton, Ruben Gerding, Dena Hale, Joni Hand, Laura hatcher, Jonathan Hayes, Carl Hess, Roberta Humphrey, Carl Kinnison, Ziping Liu, Kim Louie, David Mauk, Elizabeth McFarland, Kathie Miller, David Powell, Christina Ragain, Desma Reno, Jingjing Tong, Nicolas Wilkins, Jerzy Wojdylo, and Diane Wood. Interim Provost Randolph, and Renee Owens, Student Government Liaison, were also present. Senators not present or represented by an alternate were Shamik Bhattacharya, Patricia Farrish, and Willie Redmond.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes for April 10, 2019 (53.15) were approved.

Old Business

Senator Evans moved to table bills 19-A-X – Student Evaluation Policy and 19-A-X – Student Evaluation Procedures due to the lack of time for approval because of a lengthy discussion. Senator Wood seconded and the bill were tabled.

Senator Bohannon moved to approve bill 19-A-X – *University No Smoking Policy*. Senator Hatcher seconded. He reiterated that the no smoking policy is in the Faculty Handbook twice and there is no need for the redundancy. A vote was taken and bill 19-A-8 – *University No Smoking Policy* was passed.

Reports

Senator Hess reported on the Shared Governance Task Force. Senator Hatcher shared the findings of the Workload Committee Task Force and stated that the committee is still looking for any feedback the Senators have about the workload in their departments. Senator Wilkins also shared the Recruitment and Retention Task Force Report. He stated that the committee has looked into recruitment and retention for students and will next be working on this for faculty during the next session.

Chair Powell gave his year-end report and thanked the Senate for all their hard work and progression on Senate bills during his time as Chair.

Legislative Committee Reports

Each committee shared their year-end reports. The reports can be found on the Faculty Senate webpage under Meeting Materials.

Adjournment

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:04 p.m.