## **End of Year Report: FY23**

57<sup>th</sup> Session of the Faculty Senate Faculty Senate Executive Committee

• Chairperson: Dr. Kim Louie

Chairperson-elect: Dr. Erin FlueggeMembership Chair: Dr. Jenny Cropp

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee held 16 Faculty Senate meetings and met bimonthly with Provost Mike Godard, Administrative Liaison.

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee would like to recognize:

- Patsy Seabaugh, Faculty Senate Administrative Assistant, for her contributions to the Faculty Senate. Ms. Seabaugh documented in detail every meeting of the Faculty Senate, made the *Faculty Handbook* in compliance with accessibility standards, and assisted in managing materials. These contributions are vital to the continuous work of the Faculty Senate.
- David Oliver, Student Government Association (SGA) Liaison, and the continuous interest and collaborations between SGA and the Faculty Senate.
- The chairs and members of the legislative committees that passed twelve legislative bills and six resolutions through Faculty Senate and for their collegiality, effort, and positive approach to shared governance.
- Dr. Tim Schmidt: Faculty Senate Parliamentarian, for all his wisdom and knowledge about procedure. Tim was incredibly helpful and fundamental to the success of effective meetings and legislation.
- Dr. Kim Louie, Dr. Erin Fluegge, Dr. Jenny Cropp, Dr. Songyon Shin, Dr. David Yaskewich, Dr. Tim Schmidt, Dr. Susan Fulton, Dr. Jenna Moore, and Dr. Laura Hatcher for attending SGA as Faculty Senate Liaisons.

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee proposed and passed the following:

- Faculty Senate Bill 23-A-1: Regular Non-Tenure Track Faculty Appointments
- Faculty Senate Bill 23-A-5: Emeritus Status
- Resolution 23-2: Temporary Suspension of Timeline and External Review regarding Academic Review Process for AY23

Committees with representation by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee include:

- Budget Review Committee: Dr. Louie, Dr. Fluegge
- Academic Program Review: Dr. Louie, Dr. Fluegge
- Remote Work Policy: Dr. Erin Fluegge
- Centralized Scheduling Committee: Dr. Erin Fluegge
- Search Committee for the Vice President for University Advancement and Executive Director of the Foundation (2022): Dr. Fluegge

The Faculty Senate Chairperson Responsibilities for Dr. Louie included:

• Present reports to:

- Administrative Council on May 10, 2022, December 13, 2022, and April 11, 2023
- Council of Dean's meeting: bimonthly
- Board of Governors on May 13, 2022; September 28, 2022; December 16, 2022;
  March 10, 2023; and May 12, 2023
- Participate in panels for Take Away Friday:
  - Adjunct Faculty, November 4, 2022
  - Should being a Professor be Fun?, February 10, 2023
- A spotlight article "A Communicator in Two Languages" for *The Dome*, September 2022
- Serve food to students at the Late-Night Breakfast: December 12, 2022, and May 8, 2023
- Rappel down the South Towers dormitory for the United Way Campaign Fundraiser as Rowdy the Redhawk, May 19, 2022
- Establish a new email: facultysenate@semo.edu
- Attend Student Government Association's annual Student Government Banquet on May 1, 2023

Activities sponsored/organized by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee were:

- American Red Cross Blood Drive, October 17 and 18, 2022
  - The drive collected 62 units donated to help save 186 lives and had 16 first-time donors.
  - The Department of Communication Studies and Modern Languages won the competition for most presenters to donate blood.
- Restock the Redhawk Food Pantry
- Faculty Social Hour: September 30, 2022, and April 28, 2023

The following guests were invited to present at the Faculty Senate:

- Dr. Carlos Vargas: President; May 4, 2022
- Katie Krodinger: Director of New Student Programs; 150th Celebration Activities, August 31, 2022
- Joel Philpott: President; Student Government Association, August 31, 2022
- Michelle Johnson: Blood Services Donor Recruitment; American Red Cross, September 28, 2022
- Dr. Doug Koch: Vice Provost and Angela Meyer: Director of Facilities Management; Facilities Planning Advisory Committee, October 26, 2022
- Dr. Stephanie Hallam: Education Information Librarian and Kris Baranovic: Instructional Designer CTL; A&OER, November 9, 2022
- Angela Meyer: Director of Facilities Management; tour of facilities, November 30, 2022
- Dr. Doug Koch: Vice Provost and Sandy Hinkle: Registrar; Centralized Scheduling, February 8, 2023
- Captain Jason D. Morgan; Police Operation Director, Department of Public Safety and Transit, Active Shooter Training, January 25, 2023
- Wendell Snodgrass: Vice President for University Advancement and Nora Bouzihay: Assistant to the President; Equity Initiatives, March 8, 2023
- Dr. Brad Sheriff: Vice President for Finance and Administration; March 29, 2023