## LVII No. 1 Faculty Senate Minutes April 27, 2022

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 27, 2022, in the Program Lounge of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Mike, Aide, Larry Bohannon, Marcus Bond, Vera Campbell-Jones, Shannon Clapsaddle, Eric Clements, Jenny Cropp, Erin Fluegge, Susan Fulton, Stephanie Hallam, Laura Hatcher, Monica Kearney, Andy Liu, Kim Louie (Chair), Hayley Love, Jenna Moore, Josh Newth, Pam Parry, Tim Schmidt, Sophia Scott, Songyon Shin, Mike Taylor, Haohao Wang, David Yaskewich, and James Youn. Provost Mike Godard was also present. There was no SGA representative. Eric Billington was not present or represented by an alternate.

Chair Louie called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the 1st meeting of the 57th session. Since there were new senators, she asked everyone to introduce themselves. After the introductions, Chair Louie said that the first order of business was to elect a new chairperson elect. She asked if there were any nominations. Senator Cropp nominated Senator Fluegge and she accepted. Chair Louie asked for a vote and Senator Fluegge was unanimously approved to be the Chair-Elect.

The next item on the agenda was the election of the membership committee and chair. Some senators chose to have their names removed from the list. Senators then voted for members to serve on the membership committee. Chair-Elect Fluegge counted the votes. The following senators were elected to the membership committee: Cropp, Clapsaddle, Hallam, Scott, Youn, and Moore. Those senators left the room to select a membership chair. Senator Cropp was selected to be the chairperson of the membership committee.

Chair Louie then mentioned that a faculty representative would be needed for the student government association.

Committee preference sheets were given to senators and Chair Louie will announce the results at the next meeting on May 4.

Senator Schmidt will be the parliamentarian for the senate.

With elections concluded, Chair Louie asked if there were any announcements. Senator Schmidt informed the senate that funds are available for graduate students for professional development. He also said that the writing center could assist graduate students with writing their theses. Other announcements included the opening of The Romantic Movement at Rust Flexible Theatre, April 27-30 at 7:30 (Senator Moore) and Senator Bohannon announced the MUATE Conference scheduled for April 30, starting at 9:30 a.m.

Before the meeting adjourned, Chair Louie announced that Dr. Vargas will be attending the May 4 meeting at 4 p.m. So, the next meeting will begin at 3:30 p.m.

Adjournment: Chair Louie called for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made the floor and seconded by the floor. The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:29 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 4 from 3:30-5 p.m. in the Redhawks Room of the University Center.