LIII No. 1 Minutes of the Faculty Senate April 25, 2018

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 25, 2018 in the UC Redhawks Room. The following Senators were present: Larry Bohannon, Tamara Buck, Henry Clark, Eric Clements, Beverly Evans, Susan Fulton, Ruben Gerding, Joni Hand, Laura Hatcher, Jonathan Hayes, Avery Henry, Carl Hess, Roberta Humphrey, Carl Kinnison, Ziping Liu, Elizabeth McFarland, Jim McGill, Kathie Miller, David Powell, Willie Redmond, Desma Reno, Jingjing Tong, and Nicolas Wilkins. Margaret P. Hill was present as an alternate. Provost Kunkel and Peyton Mogley, former Student Government President, were also present. Senators not present or represented by and alternate were: Kevin Dickson, Jeremy Ellermeier, and David Mauk.

Chair Powell stated that the Senate will have an election for the Chair-Elect and a ballot vote to populate the Membership Committee, who will then vote on a Membership Committee Chair.

Senator Hand nominated Senator Wilkins for Chair-Elect. With no other nominees, Senator Wilkins was elected Chair-Elect of the Faculty Senate.

The Senate then had a ballot vote to populate the Membership Committee. The new Membership Committee is as follows:

Senator Willie Redmond Senator Avery Henry Senator Larry Bohannon Senator Henry Clark Senator Joni Hand Senator Carl Hess

The new Membership Committee elected Senator Hand to be committee Chair.

The 53rd Faculty Senate Executive Committee includes:

Chair David Powell
Chair-Elect Nicolas Wilkins
Membership Chair Senator Joni Hand

Senator McGill volunteered to be the Student Government Liaison with Senator Bohannon and Senator Clark volunteering to help with this responsibility when needed.

Senator Hatcher was nominated to be Faculty Senate Parliamentarian. She accepted.

Adjournment

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 5:22 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 in the UC Redhawks Room from 3-5 p.m.