LVIII No. 1 Faculty Senate Minutes April 26, 2023

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 26, 2023, in the Redhawks Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Michael Aide, Larry Bohannon, Christopher Bradley, Shannon Clapsaddle, Eric Clements, Jenny Cropp (Chair-Elect), Erin Fluegge (Chair), Pam Gershuny, Stephanie Hallam, Monica Kearney, Andy Liu, Kim Louie, Kelly McEnerney, Jenna Moore, Joe Murphy, Josh Newth, Peter Oman, Sophia Scott, Mike Taylor, Misty Tilmon, and David Yaskewich. Provost Mike Godard and SGA representative David Oliver were also present. The following alternates were present: Sara Garner and Shay Cecil. Laura Hatcher was not present or represented by an alternate. Tim Schmidt was not present; however, Jenna Moore was his voting proxy.

Chair Fluegge called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m. She said that she was happy to be the chair and asked everyone to introduce themselves. After the introductions, Chair Fluegge discussed the documents that Senator Cropp put together including a bill template, parliamentary procedure, and faculty senate FAQ's.

Up next, Chair Fluegge opened the floor for nominations for Chair-Elect. Senator Clapsaddle nominated Senator Cropp; seconded by Senator Bohannon. There were no other nominations and Senator Cropp was elected Chair-Elect. Additionally, the membership committee and membership committee chair elections were held. Voting was electronic, thanks to Senator Cropp who digitized the ballot. At the conclusion of the voting for the membership committee, newly elected members went outside and voted on the membership chair. Senator Hallam was selected as membership chair. Senator Schmidt will continue as parliamentarian. New membership committee members are: Shannon Clapsaddle, Jenna Lee Moore, Eric Clements, Pam Gershuny, Stephanie Hallam, and Michael Aide.

Chair's Report:

Chair Fluegge congratulated the winners of the 2023 Excellence in Advising and Teaching Awards. Senators receiving awards were Senator Hallam, Senator Schmidt, and Senator Bohannon. She informed the senate that Jennifer Weiss and Mary Harriet Talbut will be guests at the next meeting on May 3rd and will discuss ChatGPT. Chair Fluegge discussed some budget proposals which include 3 different proposals: one that would give all employee groups' what they requested, another would be a tiered structure of raises, and the other - a non-deficit proposal - which would result in across the board raises of approximately 2.5%. All proposals will include an increase in tuition.

Provost's Report: Dr. Godard gave a report in the previous session at 3 p.m.

Announcements:

Fluegge: Faculty Social Hour Friday, April 28, 5 to 7 p.m. Glenn House 325 S. Spanish Street **Moore:** Picnic April 27-29 7:30 p.m. Rust Flexible Theatre, Firebringer May 4 (7:30) and May 6 (2 p.m.) Rust Flexible Theatre, and Celebrate the Arts Friday, May 5 7:30 p.m. Bedell Performance Hall

Oliver: David placed 3rd in the 2023 Collegiate DECA International Career Development Conference and Competition in Orlando, Florida

Adjournment: Chair Fluegge called for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made by Senator Clapsaddle and seconded by Senator Bohannon. The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:52 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 3 from 3-5 in the Redhawks Room of the University Center.