COVID-19 Information

See the latest updates and information regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, including a list of University contact information at semo.edu/covid19.

Internal Assessment

The main continuous improvement project in which the Educator Preparation Program is engaged is the Annual Program Evaluation (APE). The APE process requires program faculty to evaluate their program in relation to state and/or national standards. Reports are based upon data generated by program candidates who completed the program during the previous academic year. The reports are submitted in the fall, and then members of the Educator Preparation Assessment Committee review them and provide feedback. In the course of preparing the APE report, faculty must analyze data and make judgments about the degree to which program completers are meeting expectations on the standards. Based upon these judgments, they then identify a few specific changes that they will attempt to make over the next year in order to address relative deficiencies or build upon relative strengths. The very first section of the APE report is an update on the changes proposed the previous year. Data upon which proposed changes were based is referenced both in this first section and in the section of the report that describes changes planned for the coming year. APE processes themselves have evolved over the past few years in response to faculty feedback and so are, also, an example of EPP efforts at continuous improvement.

Program Program Contact 2020 Report
Agriculture Education Mr. JW McAlister
rwmcalister@semo.edu
 
Art Education Mr. Justin Miller
jhmiller@semo.edu
 
Biology Education Dr. James Champine
jchampine@semo.edu
 
Chemistry Education Dr. Rachel Morgan-Theall
rmtheall@semo.edu
 
Counseling Education, Specialist

Dr. Travis Smith
tsmith1@semo.edu

 
Early Childhood Education

Dr. Sharon Dees
sdees@semo.edu 

 
Early Childhood Special Education, MAT    
Educational Administration, Specialist Dr. Margaret Dalton
mdalton@semo.edu
 
Elementary Education, MA Dr. Min Zou
mzou@semo.edu
 
Elementary Education, UG Dr. Larry Bohannon
rlbohannon@semo.edu
 
English Education Dr. Anthony Celaya
acelaya@semo.edu
 
Exceptional Child (Cross-Categorical), UG Dr. Dixie McCollum
dgmccollum@semo.edu
 
Exceptional Child Education, MA (Non-cert) Dr. Dixie McCollum
dgmccollum@semo.edu
 
Exceptional Child, MAT    
Family & Consumer Sciences Education Dr. Sarah Kuborn
skuborn@semo.edu
 
Higher Education Administration, MA Dr. William Bratberg
wbratberg@semo.edu
 
Mathematics Education Ms. Ann Schnurbusch
anschnurbusch@semo.edu
 
Mental Health Counseling, MA Dr. Jan Ward
jward@semo.edu
 

Middle School Education, Language Arts/Social Sciences

Middle School Education, Mathematics, Science

Dr. Sarah Lillo
slillo@semo.edu

Dr. Trudy Giasi
tgiasi@semo.edu

 
Music Education: Instrumental Dr. Elizabeth McFarland
emcfarland@semo.edu
 
Music Education: Vocal Dr. Elizabeth McFarland
emcfarland@semo.edu
 
Physical Education Dr. Adolfo Ramos
aramos@semo.edu
 
Physics Education

Dr. Joseph Murphy
jmurphy@semo.edu

 
School Administration, MA Dr. Lisa Bertrand
lbertrand@semo.edu
 
School Counseling, MA Dr. Jan Ward
jward@semo.edu
 
School Psychological Examiner, Certificate Dr. Jan Ward
jward@semo.edu
 
Secondary Ed: Educational Studies, MA Dr. Shannon Clapsaddle
sclapsaddle@semo.edu
 
Secondary Ed: Educational Technology, MA Dr. Robin Smith
rlsmith@semo.edu
 
Social Science Education Dr. Courtney Kisat
ckisat@semo.edu
 
Special Education Administrator

Dr. Lisa Bertrand
lbertrand@semo.edu

 
STEM, MAT

Dr. Trudy Giasi
tgiasi@semo.edu

 
Teacher Leadership, MA Dr. Margaret Noe
mnoe@semo.edu
 
Teacher Leadership, Specialist

Dr. Sherry Copeland
slcopeland@semo.edu

 
World Languages Education Dr. Gabriele Eckart
geckart@semo.edu
 

Contact

Educator Preparation
573.651.2556
edprep@semo.edu


Certification/Background Check
573.651.5932
csco@semo.edu

Field Experiences
573.651.2411
fieldexperiences@semo.edu

Scully 301

Educator Preparation
One University Plaza
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701