If you are ready to take the next steps towards a degree in General Studies, let our experienced council review your credits and see what you qualify for.

General Education Council handles all policy matters affecting the General Education program and all proposals for new courses or changes in the treatment of the General Education objectives in existing courses. The Council also advises the Provost’s Office concerning matters affecting the quality and development of the program, resource allocations, and review and assessment procedures. The Vice Provost or delegate chairs the Council. 
Name Term College/Unit Email Phone Mail Stop
Doug Koch Non-rotating Member Chair - Vice Provost (ex officio)  dkoch@semo.edu (573) 986-6777  3400 
Sandy Hinkle Non-rotating Member  Registrar (ex officio)  shinkle@semo.edu  (573) 651-2474  3760
Eric Sentell Non-rotating Member  General Education Coordinator  esentell@semo.edu  (573) 718-4371  2650
Scott Brandhorst July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2021  College of Education, Health, and Human Studies  sbrandhorst@semo.edu   (573) 986-4991 2920
HJ Cho July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2024
Harrison College of Business and Computing  hjcho@semo.edu (573) 986-4964
Kathie Miller July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2024 College of Humanities and Social Sciences  kmiller@semo.edu  (573) 651-2328
Brooke Clubbs July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2022  College of Humanities and Social Sciences  bclubbs@semo.edu  (573) 651-2521 
Amanda Eller July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2021  Enrollment Management and Student Success  aeller@semo.edu  (573) 651-5090  7850
Kitt Lavoie July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2022 Holland College of Arts and Media  klavoie@semo.edu   (573) 651-2149
Jim McGill July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2022  College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics  jmcgill@semo.edu  (573) 651-2347 
Hilary Peterson July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024
Holland College of Arts and Media  hpeterson@semo.edu  5850
Kyle Schneider July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2022  College of Education, Health, and Human Studies  kschneider@semo.edu  (573) 651-5193 
Samantha Siemers July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2024
College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics  slowman@semo.edu 
(573) 651-5193
Pat Willingham July 1, 2021- June 30, 2024
Kent Library pwillingham@semo.edu  (573) 651-2754
7650
Chen Wu  July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2022  Harrison College of Business and Computing  cwu@semo.edu  (573) 651-2204 
Ethan Wann July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022   Student Representative   eewann1s@semo.edu  
Ryan Wilke July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022   Student Representative rjwilke1s@semo.edu 
Location
Office
Academic Hall 132
Mailing Address
One University Plaza, MS 3400
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701