Southeast Missouri State University

Tobacco Use in the Workplace Committee

In September 2013, Administrative Council appointed the Tobacco Use in the Workplace Committee to make recommendations regarding current enforcement issues and possible penalties and policies, and whether or not the campus should move towards a smoke-free policy. An online survey was conducted beginning on January 27, 2014, for student, faculty and staff input. Additionally, Committee members met with various student, faculty and staff constituent groups to obtain feedback and encourage survey participation. Based on the feedback received, Administrative Council has asked the committee to review the designated outdoor smoking areas for possible updates and policy enforcement challenges. The committee will present its recommendation to Administrative Council by July 1, 2014.

Committee Timeline:

Dates Action
January 27, 2014 Issue Surveys for Campus Input
Months of January and February 2014 Committee Members conduct Focus Group Meetings
February 26, 2014 Survey Response Deadline
Weeks of March 3 and 10, 2014 Committee reviews survey results and focus group feedback
March 14, 2014 Committee finalizes recommendations and focus group feedback
Mid to Late March 2014 Committee presents survey results to Administrative Council
July 1, 2014 Committee presents recommendations to Administrative Council


Committee Membership:

Name Job Title/Department Contact Information
Mark Alnutt Director of Athletics malnutt@semo.edu
Gail Amick Office of Admissions gamick@semo.edu
Jeremy Barnes Professor of Health, Human Performance & Recreation jbarnes@semo.edu
Frank Barrios Dean of the College of Liberal Arts fbarrios@semo.edu
Randy Carter Assistant Dean of Student Conduct lrcarter@semo.edu
Benny Dorris President of Student Government Bmdorris1s@semo.edu
Casey Fastnutt Cheney Hall Resident Advisor Cjfasnut1s@semo.edu
Kim Fees Assistant Director of Resident Life kfees@semo.edu
Leslee Pollina Psychology Faculty lpollina@semo.edu
Debbie Lee-DiStefano Chair of Faculty Senate dklee@semo.edu
Jeremy McBroom Director of Military Affairs jlmcbroom@semo.edu
Devin Melton Residence Hall Association President Dmmelton1s@semo.edu
Jennifer Karnes Show Me Center-Box Office jkarnes@semo.edu
Alissa Vandeven Assistant Director of Human Resources avandeven@semo.edu
Kim Wilkerson Student Recreation Center kwilkerson@semo.edu
Diane Wood Faculty, Department of Biology dwood@semo.edu
Robyn Young Office of the Dean, College of Education rayoung@semo.edu

 

Policy and Procedures

Questions concerning this policy and operating procedures should be directed to Human Resources at (573) 651-2206.

Campus Map: Designated Outdoor Smoking Areas

  • Locating smoking areas: In the map Legend on the left under the "Health and Safety" section, click the "Smoking Areas" check box to display icons on the map.

APPLY VISIT DONATE