LVIII No. 17 Faculty Senate Minutes April 24, 2024

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 24, 2024, in the Redhawks Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Michael Aide, Larry Bohannon, Christopher Bradley, Shannon Clapsaddle, Eric Clements, Jenny Cropp (Chair-Elect), Erin Fluegge (Chair), Pam Gershuny, Stephanie Hallam, Monica Kearney, Kim Louie, Haley Love, Kelly McEnerney, Jenna Moore, Joe Murphy, Josh Newth, Tim Schmidt, Mike Taylor, Misty Tilmon, and David Yaskewich. Provost Mike Godard was present. SGA representative Jonah McGuire was not present. The following alternates were present: Tomoaki Nomi and Juefei Yuan. Peter Oman and Sophia Scott were not present or represented by alternates.

Chair Fluegge called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. and asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the last meeting on April 17, 2024. Senator Clapsaddle made the motion which was seconded by Senator Moore. The minutes were unanimously approved and will be posted on the webpage.

SGA Report:

The SGA representative was not present; however, Chair Fluegge reported that the last SGA meeting was very long as they had an open and closed session.

Provost's Report:

The provost reported that Dr. Vargas signed the last 2 bills that the senate submitted. Chair Fluegge commented that no other session of the faculty senate has had all legislation approved Session 58 is the first to do so.

Chair's Report:

Chair Fluegge provided the following informational/calendar items:

- Bangladeshi Night, Saturday, April 27, 2024, 6:30 pm, University Center
- Greek Week- Order of Omega Greek Honor Society Awards- Professor of the Year: Dr. William McNeary
- Chair Fluegge has been honored by SGA with the Dr. R. Ferrell Ervin Excellence in Teaching Award
- Student Life and Leadership Awards Banquet Friday, April 26th and SGA Award Banquet is Monday, April 29th.
- The Enrollment transformation task force met Friday, April 19th and Chair Fluegge's charge is to support faculty engagement and new student recruitment.
- The Enrollment Transformation Task Force met Friday, April 19th and will provide an update to various stakeholders (Faculty Senate Executives, PSC, CTS, Chairs, Deans) on Thursday, May 2nd.
- Centralized scheduling may have a meeting on Friday, May 3^{rd.}
- FM Appreciation Picnic Sponsored by Faculty Senate on Wednesday, May 1 from 12-1 pm at Facilities Management Garage Bay (610 Washington Street)
- Budget Review—met the new interim VP of Finance, Dr. Gerald Shields at the Enrollment transformation task force meeting. The budget review meeting that was scheduled for Tuesday, April 23rd was cancelled. Chair Fluegge talked with President

Vargas to convey the students' interest and fears in the budget process and said she believes that a meeting needs to be held before the end of the semester to allow for student involvement. The next budget review meeting is Tuesday, April 30th from 12-1pm (meet and greet). There is a budget review meeting on the calendar for May 13th, but she is advocating for a meeting to be held before the end of the semester.

- Will meet with Jim Limbaugh (BOG) next week.
- Will give her final BOG report on May 17th.

Chair Fluegge thanked the senate for their work on all of the legislation—which was all approved. She also thanked and presented the secretary with flowers and a card. Chair Fluegge presented the provost with a desk name plate and thanked him for his support.

Also, certificates were presented to senators whose terms expired:

- Christopher Baldwin, Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion
- Shannon Clapsaddle, Leadership, Middle, and Secondary Education
- Beverly Evans, Allied Health, Kinesiology, and Sport Sciences
- Sara Garner, Child and Family Studies
- Pam Gershuny, Marketing
- Sophia Han, Music
- Chris Haug, Theatre & Dance
- Monica Kearney, Allied Health, Kinesiology, and Sport Sciences
- Kim Louie, Communication Studies and Modern Languages
- Hayley Love, Child and Family Studies
- Jenna Lee Moore, Theatre & Dance
- Kevin Musgrave, Communication Studies and Modern Languages
- Tomoaki Nomi, Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion
- Alisha Ortiz, Marketing
- Tim Schmidt, Music
- Dustin Siegel, Biology
- Robin Smith, Leadership, Middle, and Secondary Education
- Mike Taylor, Biology

Chair Fluegge, Robin Smith, and Roxanne Wellington also received certificates for attending SGA meetings (Smith and Wellington were the non-senators who volunteered to attend the meetings). Additionally, senators also received pins. Chair Fluegge thanked the other members of the senate executive committee, Chair-Elect Cropp and Senator Hallam.

Announcements:

Moore: Randi & Roxanne, April 25-27, 7:30 pm, Rust Flexible Theatre

Fluegge: FM Appreciation Picnic Sponsored by Faculty Senate on Wednesday, May 1 from 12-1 pm at Facilities Management Garage Bay (610 Washington Street)

Take Away Friday: Alumni Tracking, hosted by Faculty Senate on Friday, May 3 from 12-1 pm in the Whitaker classroom at the Edvolution center and via Teams.

Murphy: Soft opening of the observatory on Thursday, April 25, 2024

Adjournment: Chair Fluegge called for a motion to adjourn. Senator Moore made the motion; seconded by Senator Murphy. The Faculty Senate adjourned at 3:23 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 1 from 3-5 pm in the Redhawks Room of the University Center.