The Fault Line Film Festival

The Fault Line Film Festival showcases the creativity and innovation of university students across Missouri. Student filmmakers are given the chance to stoplight their creative talents by competing for $4,000 in awards and prizes.

This event is sponsored by Department of Mass Media, Department of Theatre & Dance, Earl and Margie Holland School of Visual and Performing Arts, College of Liberal Arts, Department of Industrial and Engineering Technology, Office of the Provost and the Douglas C. Greene Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Southeast Missouri State University.

The award winning films for 2013 were:

  • Best of Festival: "Putting out the Fire with Gasoline" (Director: Noah Canavan)
  • Best Invitational Film: "Lemon" (Director: Jenny Brinkman)
  • Best Drama: "To Beat the Devil" (Director: Bryan Birks)
  • Best Comedy: "Servants" (Director: Jordan Tingle)
  • Best Mystery/Suspense: "Inside Oblivion" (Director: Madison Friend)
  • Best Animation: "Scaredy Kat" (Director: Jonathan Piedimonte)
  • Judges' Award: "P-a-r-a-n-o-i-a-c" (Director: Wes Lyons)
  • Audience Choice Award: "Servants" (Director: Jordon Tingle)
  • Honorable Mention: "The Jar" (Director: Ashley Toombs)
  • Honorable Mention: "A Mess" (Director: Noah Canavan)

Our History

The Fault Line Film Festival began in 2010 at Southeast Missouri State University. Each year, winners are recognized at an awards ceremony at Bedell Performance Hall, and the top films are screened at a film festival gala in Rose Theater. The award winning films for 2012 were:

  • Best of Festival: "Frank Live" (Director: Cody Tucker)
  • Best Drama: "Clincher" (Director: Bryan Birks)
  • Best Comedy: "We've Got A Problem" (Director: Bryan Schilling) 
  • Best Mystery/Suspense: "Clean Up" (Director: Paul Edwards)
  • Judges' Award: "Ecstasy of Tuco" (Director: Hunter Hempen)
  • Best of 48-Hour Film Frenzy: "Bag" (Director: Joe Groeller)
  • Audience Choice Award: "Late" (Director: Kurt Ehlmann)
  • Honorable Mention: "A Living Nightmare" (Director: Osby Tomlin)
  • Honorable Mention: "Everly" (Director: Whitney Buckner)

This award-winning films for 2011 were:

  • Best of Festival: "Coming and Going" (Directors: John Haas and Gloria Day)
  • Best Drama: "Shift" (Director: Bryan Birks)
  • Best Comedy: "Terrible Tides" (Director: Hunter Hempen)
  • Best Mystery/Suspense: "Lost and Found" (Director: Kurt Ehlmann)
  • Best Animation:  "Kreigshund" (Director: Kurt Dillow)
  • Judges' Award: "Achromatic" (Director: Paul Stokes)
  • Audience Choice Award: "Lies in the Night" (Directors: Sam Pixley and Will Hughes)
  • Hornorable Mention: "Not to Run" (Director: Elena Brown)
  • Honorable Mention: "Lies in the Night" (Directors : Sam Pixley and Will Hughes)

The award-winning flims for 2012 were:

  • Best of Festival: "Madison" (Director: Josh Friedrich)
  • Best Drama: "Caliginosity" (Directors: Robert Foote and Hunter Hempen)
  • Best Comedy: "Blind Date" (Director: Amanda Sachtleben)
  • Best Mystery/Suspense: "Crossroads" (Director: Paul Stokes)
  • Best Animation: "I'm Awake" (Director: Jenny Martinez)
  • Best Invitational Film: "The Call" (Director: Kara Espy)
  • Judges' Award: "The Wight KIng" (Director: Robert Spurlock)
  • Audience Choice Award: "Blind Date" (Director: Amanda Sachtleben)
  • Honorable Mention: "The Distance of the Heart" (Director: Hailan Wang)
  • Honorable Mention: "Ect." (Director: Bryan Birks)
  • Honorable Mention: "Misericordia" (Directors: Gary P. Schmidt, Jr. and Adam Miller)