Faculty Member

Allan J. Bornstein, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

abornstein@semo.edu
(573) 651-2363
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/bornstein/home/index.htm
Office: Rhodes Hall 209

Teaches: Systematic Botany, Field Botany, Native Aquatic Plants
Research: Floristics; Taxonomy and evolutionary relationships of neotropical pipers
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology; Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Faculty Member

Rebecka Brasso, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

rbrasso@semo.edu
(573) 651-2358
http://faculty.semo.edu/rbrasso/
Office: Rhodes Hall 213

Teaches: Wildlife toxicology, Management of Wildlife Habitats, Ornithology, Introduction to Toxicology
Research: Ornithology and ecotoxicology; effects of heavy metals (Pb, Hg) on songbirds, Hg cycling in wetlands of SE Missouri
Advises: Wildlife and Conservation Biology, Organismal, Ecological and Environmental Biology

Faculty Member

Marilyn Burleson

Instructor of Biology

mlburleson@semo.edu
(573) 276-4577

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology

Faculty Member

James Champine, Ph. D.

Professor/Chairman of Biology

jchampine@semo.edu
(573) 651-2171
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/champine
Office: Rhodes Hall 224 A

Teaches: Microbiology, Microbial Physiology
Research: Environmental microbiology; Antibiotic resistance in environmental bacteria; Lead tolerance; Antifolate antimicrobials
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med; Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Faculty Member

Jon Davenport, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

jdavenport@semo.edu
(573) 651-2366
http://jondavenport80.wixsite.com/wildlifeecology
Office: Rhodes Hall 202

Research: Population and community ecology; freshwater ecology; herpetology

Faculty Member

Jeremy Ellermeier, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

jellermeier@semo.edu
(573) 651-2384
Office: Rhodes Hall 311

Teaches: Immunology, Pathogenic Microbiology, General Microbiology, Microorganisms and Their Human Hosts, Bacterial Genetics
Advises: Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology, and Biotechnology

Faculty Member

Allen C. Gathman, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology; Dean of Online Learning

agathman@semo.edu
(573) 651-2298
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/gathman
Office: Kent Library 305

Faculty Member

Vicki Howell

Senior Administrative Assistant

vhowell@semo.edu
(573) 651-2170
Office: Rhodes Hall 224

Faculty Member

Seong Nam Hwang, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor

shwang@semo.edu
(573) 651-2927
Office: Rhodes Hall 107C

Teaches: Fundamentals of Disaster/Emergency Management, Vulnerability and Risk Reduction, Disaster/Emergency Planning and Response, Fundamental Risk Communication, GIS Planning for Emergency Management, Application of GIS
Research: Emergency Management, GIS

Faculty Member

Timothy Judd, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

tjudd@semo.edu
(573) 651-2365
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/tjudd
Office: Rhodes Hall 225

Teaches: Entomology; Animal Behavior; Invertebrate Zoology
Research: Animal behavior; Invertebrate biology; Nutritional ecology and behavior of eusocial animals.
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology; Marine Biology

Faculty Member

John Kraemer, Ph. D.

Professor/Director of Environmental Science; CEO, Institute for Environmental Health Assessment & Patient Centered Outcomes

jkraemer@semo.edu
(573) 651-2355
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/kraemer
Office: Rhodes Hall 107 C

Teaches: Risk Assessment; Industrial Hygiene; Emergency Management
Research: Public health, asthma, indoor air, pesticide exposures
Advises: Pre-Dental; Pre-Optometry; Pre-Chiropractic; Biomedical Sciences

Faculty Member

Rebeccah Kurzhals, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

rkurzhals@semo.edu
(573) 651-2361
Office: Rhodes Hall 218

Teaches: Genetics; Molecular Biological Investigations
Research: Drosophila genetics, telomeres, genome stability, chromatin structure and function, DNA damage response
Advises: Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology; Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med

Faculty Member

Walt Lilly, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology Radiation Safety Officer Laser Safety Officer

wlilly@semo.edu
(573) 651-2359
Office: Rhodes Hall 219

Teaches: Cell Biology; Problems in cell and molecular biology; Bioinformatics
Research: Fungal biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics; Protease biochemistry; regulation of protein turnover and proteolytic activity at the molecular level
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med; Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Faculty Member

Shannon McNew

Instructor

smcnew@semo.edu
(573) 986-4920
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/mcnew
Office: Rhodes Hall 224 C

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med

Faculty Member

Jim Robins, Ph. D.

Instructor

jhrobins@semo.edu
(573) 986-6729
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/jhrobins
Office: Rhodes Hall 308

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology

Faculty Member

John S. Scheibe, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

jscheibe@semo.edu
(573) 651-2379
http://www.sabrinus.com
Office: Magill Hall 125

Teaches: Mammalogy; Herpetology; Vertebrate Adaptations; Comparative Anatomy
Research: Population biology; Ecological modeling; mammalogy; herpetology; Evolution of form and function in gliding mammals
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology

Faculty Member

Dustin S. Siegel, Ph. D.

Associate Professor

dsiegel@semo.edu
(573) 651-2262
https://sites.google.com/site/dsiegel5151/home
Office: Rhodes Hall 228

Research: Reproductive biology; comparative vertebrate anatomy; herpetology

Faculty Member

Michael S. Taylor, Ph. D.

Associate Professor of Biology

mtaylor@semo.edu
(573) 651-2357
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/mtaylor
Office: Rhodes Hall 217

Teaches: Marine Biology; Ichthyology; Biogeography; Evolution
Research: Biology of fishes; Marine biology; Phylogenetic systematics; Population genetics; Evolutionary biology; Molecular evolution
Advises: Marine Biology; Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology

Faculty Member

Margaret A. Waterman, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

mwaterman@semo.edu
(573) 651-2381
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/waterman
Office: Rhodes Hall 205

Faculty Member

Jennifer Weber, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

jjweber@semo.edu
(573) 651-2362
http://www.jenniferweber.org/
Office: Rhodes Hall 210

Faculty Member

Diane Wood, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

dwood@semo.edu
(573) 651-2364
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/wood
Office: Rhodes Hall 228

Teaches: Aquatic Entomology, Freshwater Ecology, Anatomy and Physiology

Contact

573.651.2170
jchampine@semo.edu
Rhodes Hall 224
Department of Biology
One University Plaza, MS 6200
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701